CD Teddy Pendergrass/Life Is a Song Worth Singing (CD 1014996),
back to browsing

Teddy Pendergrass/Life Is a Song Worth Singing

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): DIAB401

  • Credits

    2 LPs on 1 CD.
    This single CD compiles the 1977 self-titled solo album from ex-Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes singer and soul sensation Teddy Pendergrass, and his followup LIFE IS A SONG WORTH SINGING. Tracks include "The Whole World's Laughing at Me", "Close the Door", and "Life is a Song Worth Singing".
    In 1999, WestSide released Teddy Pendergrass/Life Is a Song Worth Singing, which contained two complete albums -- Teddy Pendergrass (1977, originally released on Philadelphia International) and Life Is a Song Worth Singing (1978, Philadelphia International) -- by Teddy Pendergrass on one compact disc. The two albums are Pendergrass' first solo ventures and are chock-full of excellent songs amid very little, if any, filler. At this early point in his solo career, Pendergrass was still setting the dancefloors aflame with steppers anthems like "You Can't Hide From Yourself," "I Don't Love You Anymore," "Only You," and "Get Up, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose." At the same time, however, Pendergrass had already mastered the quiet storm-style of balladry that would ultimately become his legacy: "Somebody Told Me," "The Whole Town's Laughing at Me," "Cold, Cold World," and "Close the Door" being the standout ballads here. Compiling two excellent, rock-solid albums back to back, Teddy Pendergrass/Life Is a Song Worth Singing is a perfect two-fer and its chronological sequencing also makes it a historically significant one as well. [Diablo reissued the two-fer in 2006.] ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $10.63
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for