CD The Breaks: Original B Boy Street Funk and Block Party Classics [Slipcase] (CD 7018969),
back to browsing

The Breaks: Original B Boy Street Funk and Block Party Classics [Slipcase]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Champ, The - The Mohawks
    2. It's a New Day - Skull Snaps
    3. Don't Change Your Love - Cubie/Five Stairsteps & Cubie/The Five Stairsteps
    4. I'm Gonna Get You - Sir Joe Quarterman/Free Soul/Sir Joe Quarterman And FreeSoul
    5. Same Old Thing - The Meters
    6. Space Funk - Manzel
    7. Cavern - Liquid
    8. Heartbeat - Taana Gardener/Taana Gardner
    9. Jammin' Big Guitar - Vaughan Mason/Vaughn Mason
    10. I Got My Mind Made Up - Instant Funk
    11. Dazz - Brick
    12. Sing Sing - Gaz
    13. Get Down with the Philly Sound - MFSB
    14. Bra - Cymande
    15. Love and Happiness - Al Green
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm So Glad You're Mine - Al Green
    2. Here I Go Again - Jean Plum
    3. You Know How to Make Me Feel So Good - Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes
    4. Hercules - Aaron Neville
    5. Person to Person - The Average White Band
    6. Cry Together - The O'Jays
    7. Hurry Up This Way Again - The Stylistics
    8. I Hate I Walked Away - Syl Johnson
    9. Tramp - Lowell Fulsom/Lowell Fulson
    10. Stick Up - Honey Cone
    11. Soulful Footbal - Willie Henderson & The Soul Explosions/Willie Henderson
    12. Message, The - Cymande
    13. Good Ole Music - Funkadelic
    14. Run Nigger - The Last Poets
    15. Kool Is Back - Funk Incorporated
    16. Groovin' - Willie Mitchell
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): HURTCD 101

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Dean Rudland.
    From 1998 through 2000, the Harmless label released three volumes of The Breaks, with the selections made by DJ Pogo, Cutmaster Swift, and Skye. Just as the label released 15-year anniversary editions of its Mellow Mellow and Jumpin' comps, it overhauled The Breaks with this two-disc set, which contains some of the tracks featured in the initial run along with other relevant cuts. Each one of the tracks was sampled on at least one notable rap track, while others were widespread. Not only does this function as an enjoyable beginner's level course in breaks, but it's also a quality set of (mostly) `60s and early `70s soul and funk. Among the most-recognizable tracks: Skull Snaps' "It's a New Day," Taana Gardner's "Heartbeat" (a rare `80s inclusion), Instant Funk's "I Got My Mind Made Up," Cymande's "The Message," and Willie Mitchell's instrumental version of the Rascals' "Groovin'." ~ Andy Kellman

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] dynamite party soundtrack....As ever, Kool Herc gets props as the original block-rocking DJ."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for