CD The Essential Patti LaBelle [3.0] [Digipak] (CD 6983322),
back to browsing

The Essential Patti LaBelle [3.0] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. If Only You Knew
    2. Love, Need and Want You
    3. If You Don't Know Me By Now
    4. Best is Yet To Come, The
    5. Spirit's In It, The
    6. New Attitude
    7. On My Own
    8. When You Talk About Love
    9. My Love, Sweet Love [From Waiting To Exhale]
    10. Somebody Loves You Baby (You Know Who It is)
    11. Down the Aisle (the Wedding Song)
    12. Bells, The
    13. Last Dance - (previously unreleased)
    14. Moon Shadow [Album Version]
    15. I Sold My Heart To the Junkman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Lady Marmalade
    2. What Can I Do For You
    3. You Turn Me On
    4. Open Up Your Heart
    5. Messin' With My Mind
    6. Isn't It a Shame
    7. Joy To Have Your Love
    8. You Are My Friend
    9. It's Alright With Me
    10. Music is My Way of Life [Album Version]
    11. Release (the Tension) [Disco Version] - (previously unreleased)
    12. Over the Rainbow
    13. Come What May
    14. Love Has Finally Come
    15. Mean Ol' Man's World
    0. DISC 3:
    1. What'cha Doing To Me
    2. Give It Up (the Dawning of Rejection)
    3. Teach Me Tonight [Me Gusta Tu Baile]
    4. I Think About You
    5. I Don't Go Shopping
    6. Quiet Time
    7. My Best Was Good Enough
    8. Love and Learn
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 68643

  • Credits
    ProducerLeo Sacks; Brian Chin

    Liner Note Author: Brian Chin .
    Photographers: Don Hunstein; Carlo Dalla Chiesa; Keith Major.
    The third and most adventurous double-disc Patti LaBelle compilation released within the several previous years, following 2004's Philadelphia International-centric Anthology (released through The Right Stuff) and 2005's wide-ranging Gold (Hip-O), The Essential Patti LaBelle features a surprising amount of '70s material, a fair portion of which comes from her often overlooked work with the group Labelle (who just happened to be prepping a new album at the time of this set's release). A fifth of the material here comes from the Labelle albums Moon Shadow, Pressure Cookin', Nightbirds, Phoenix, and Chameleon, and it helps prove that there was much more to them than the proto-disco classic "Lady Marmalade" (included here). The set spans nearly four decades, from an alternate version of 1962's "I Sold My Heart to the Junkman" (with the Bluebelles) through 1997's Jam & Lewis-produced "When You Talk About Love." There's some previously unreleased material as well, including a Gamble & Huff-produced "Mean Ol' Man's World" and a disco mix of Released's "Release (The Tension)." Most of the major hits are here, solo and otherwise, including the Black Singles/R&B Top Ten hits "What Can I Do for You?," "If Only You Knew," "New Attitude," and the Michael McDonald duet "On My Own." [The 3.0 edition of The Essential Patti LaBelle features a third disc containing eight additional minor hits.] ~ Andy Kellman

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $15.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for