CD 20 Jazz Funk Greats (CD 15837577),
back to browsing

20 Jazz Funk Greats

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. 20 Jazz Funk Greats
    2. Beachy Head
    3. Still Walking
    4. Tanith
    5. Convincing People
    6. Exotica
    7. Hot on the Heels of Love
    8. Persuasion
    9. Walkabout
    10. What a Day
    11. Six Six Sixties
    0. DISC 2: 1979 LIVE BONUS CD:
    1. Weapon Training [Live at The Factory, Manchester 1979] - (live)
    2. Convincing People [Live at The Factory 1979] - (live)
    3. They Make No Say [Guildhall, Northampton 1979] - (live)
    4. Five Knuckle Shuffle [Live at The Factory 1979] - (live)
    5. His Arm Was Her Leg [Live at The Factory 1979] - (live)
    6. See You Are [Live at The Factory 1979] - (live)
    7. What a Day [Live at The Factory 1979] - (live)
    8. Discipline [Manchester 12" Single A-Side] - (live)
    9. Discipline [Berlin 12" Single B-Side] - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): IRLCD 003

  • Credits

    Throbbing Gristle: Cosey Fanni Tutti (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, cornet); Peter Christopherson (vocals, cornet, vibraphone); Chris Carter (vocals, synthesizer); Genesis P-Orridge (violin, synthesizer, vibraphone, bass).
    Personnel: Genesis P-Orridge (vocals, violin, synthesizer, vibraphone, bass guitar); Cosey Fanni Tutti (vocals, cornet, synthesizer); Peter Christopherson (vocals, cornet, vibraphone); Chris Carter (vocals, sequencer).
    Audio Remasterer: Chris Carter.
    Liner Note Author: Jon Savage .
    Recording information: Studios Of Industrial Records (09/03/1979).
    Though Throbbing Gristle's label, Industrial Records, inadvertently gave the music world a new genre heading, there's not much in the way of clanging pipes or steam-vent hiss on 20 JAZZ FUNK GREATS. Then again, you'll find no jazz (title track excepted), precious little funk, and only 13 songs here. "Maturing" beyond the performance-art outrages of COUM Transmissions, TG's Genesis P-Orridge, Chris Carter, Cosey Fanni Tutti, and Peter Christopherson take to cutting slabs of murky, artless, malevolent noise with such titles as "Zyklon-B Zombie" and "Maggot Death."
    GREATS slaps a sarcastic happy-face on the band's antisocial aesthetic. This is TG's "pop" album. The cover even shows them standing in a meadow, grinning ear-to-ear (or trying to). The cause of their amusement, however, is a nude female corpse splayed among the tall poppies. The creepy calm of "Tanith," the tortured synth-pop of "Still Walking," and "Hot On The Heels Of Love" capture the mood. Terminally sour P-Orridge's chanted litany of complaints ("What A Day") is pretty funny, and "Walkabout" is a lovely synth-strumental. But the voyeuristic aplomb with which he tears into "Persuasion," a grainy S&M script set to Gristle-y sound effects, is thoroughly unnerving.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (9/91) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "..travels between the melodic structures of a perverse Abba to the electronic austerity of Kraftwerk.."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "20 JAZZ FUNK GREATS marked a turn into lighter territory....Sublimating TG's noise elements within electronic rhythms and proto-exotica."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $45.74
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for