CD 35 Years of Stony Plain [Box] (CD 7042460),
back to browsing

35 Years of Stony Plain [Box]

    1. Diplomat, The - Maria Muldaur
    2. Wildcat, The - Jeff Healey
    3. Looking for a Brand New World - Harry Manx/Kevin Breit
    4. Horse Soldier, Horse Soldier - Corb Lund
    5. Ben McCulloch - Steve Earle
    6. Blaino's Song - Ian Tyson
    7. Country Music Lament - Tim Hus
    8. Still in the Running - Valdy Fjellgaard/Gary Fjellgaard/Valdy & Gary Fjellgaard
    9. Canary Yellow Car - Ray Bonneville
    10. That's Your Red Wagon - Asleep at the Wheel
    11. Strictly from Dixie - Sunny & Her Joy Boys
    12. Get Way Back - Amos Garrett
    13. Bend a Little - David Wilcox
    14. Shivers - New Guitar Summit
    15. Our Station - Spirit of the West
    16. Wheels - Emmylou Harris
    17. Four Strong Winds - Blue Rodeo
    18. Closer to Heaven - Rodney Crowell
    19. Dreaming - Bob Carpenter (previously unreleased)
    20. Magdelana - Bob Carpenter (previously unreleased)
    21. Chameleon Man - Bob Carpenter (previously unreleased)
    1. Stomp the Blues Tonight - Duke Robillard
    2. Black Widow Spider - Joe Louis Walker
    3. Moten Swing - Duke Robillard/Jay McShann
    4. Heaven Send Me an Angel - Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
    5. Dirty, Dirty People - Doug James/Sugar Ray Norcia
    6. I'm Torn Down - Jeff Healey
    7. No More Doggin' - Rosco Gordon
    8. Teardrops on Your Letter - Doug Sahm/Gene Taylor/Amos Garrett
    9. Miracle - Ronnie Earl/The Broadcasters
    10. Mississippi Man - Rory Block
    11. Police and High Sheriff - Big Dave McLean
    12. Gallows Pole - Long John Baldry
    13. Honey Do Woman - Sonny Rhodes
    14. Crawling King Snake - Ellen McIlwaine
    15. Hello Stranger - Billy Boy Arnold
    16. Ain't Broke and Ain't Hungry - King Biscuit Boy (previously unreleased)
    17. Nighthawk Boogie - Robert Nighthawk (previously unreleased)
    18. I'm Gonna Murder My Baby - Robert Nighthawk (previously unreleased)
    19. You Missed a Good Man - Robert Nighthawk (previously unreleased)
    20. Backwater Blues - Robert Nighthawk (previously unreleased)
    1. Tour of the Stony Plain Offices, A
    2. Like a Hurricane - Jeff Healey
    3. Going to Kansas City - Jay McShann/Johnnie Johnson
    4. Bobby's Bop - Ronnie Earl/The Broadcasters
    5. Workin' Hard for My Uncle - Duke Robillard
    6. Truth Comes Out, The - Corb Lund
    7. Springtime in Alberta - Ian Tyson
    8. Bop 'til I Drop - Donnie "Mr. Downchild" Walsh/Downchild Blues Band
    9. Shake That Thing - Long John Baldry
    10. I'm So Glad - Jr. Gone Wild
    11. After the First Time - Paperboys
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SPCD1354

  • Credits
    ProducerDoug Coleman; Connie Edwards; Holger Petersen (Compilation)

    Liner Note Authors: Richard Flohil; Holger Petersen.
    Recording information: 1965-2011.
    Photographer: Mark Dutton.
    Founded by Holger Petersen in 1976, the independent Canadian label Stony Plain Records has devoted itself to what it defines as roots music: folk, country, and blues, along with related subgenres. 35 Years of Stony Plain is a two-CD, one-DVD set chronicling the label's history, with tracks actually going back more than ten years prior to its formation (a quartet of previously unreleased Robert Nighthawk performances from 1965). But that is not to say that it provides a balanced sampling of Stony Plain recordings over three-and-a-half decades, nor is it intended to. In fact, the label issues this sort of compilation every five years, so this one is, naturally, tipped heavily toward what has come out since 2006. And that's quite a batch of material. It includes the work of flagship artists like Maria Muldaur and Ian Tyson, as well as some brand names the label has had the chance to distribute in Canada, including Steve Earle, Asleep at the Wheel, Emmylou Harris, and Rodney Crowell. Sadly, the five-year period also marked the death of guitarist Jeff Healey, who is remembered by both audio tracks and a video tribute. These artists are featured on the first disc, dubbed "Singers, Songwriters and Much, Much More.." The second disc, "Blues, R&B, Swing, Jazz and Even More." also includes Healey, as well as Stony Plain's blues main man Duke Robillard, Rory Block, Ronnie Earl & the Broadcasters, Long John Baldry, and the trio effort the Amos Garrett, Doug Sahm, and Gene Taylor Band. The DVD is a video scrapbook also featuring a tour of the Stony Plain offices and interview with Petersen, as well as a collection of music videos. The result is a thorough look at Stony Plain Records' ambitions and accomplishments over the 35 years, with special emphasis on the last five. ~ William Ruhlmann

  • Critic Reviews
    Living Blues (p.72) - "The quality of the label's signings over the years is impeccable, and the passion and workmanship each track contains is the reason Canada's premiere roots/blues label has lived 35 years to tell the tale."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.99) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The Edmonton, Alberta indie celebrates past and present with two CDs, from its kaleidoscopic back catalogue..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.30
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for