CD Birth of the Dead (CD 529908),
back to browsing

Birth of the Dead

    1. Early Morning Rain - (previously unreleased)
    2. I Know You Rider - (previously unreleased)
    3. Mindbender (Confusion's Prince) - (previously unreleased)
    4. Only Time Is Now, The - (previously unreleased)
    5. Caution (Do Not Stop on Tracks)
    6. Can't Come Down
    7. Stealin' - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
    8. Stealin' - (take With Vocals, vocal)
    9. Don't Ease Me In - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
    10. Don't Ease Me In - (take With Vocals, vocal)
    11. You Don't Have to Ask - (previously unreleased)
    12. Tastebud - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
    13. Tastebud - (previously unreleased, take With Vocals, vocal)
    14. I Know You Rider - (previously unreleased)
    15. Cold Rain and Snow - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
    16. Cold Rain and Snow - (previously unreleased, take With Vocals, vocal)
    17. Fire in the City - (previously unreleased)
    1. Viola Lee Blues - (previously unreleased)
    2. Don't Ease Me In - (previously unreleased)
    3. Pain in My Heart - (previously unreleased)
    4. Sitting on Top of the World - (previously unreleased)
    5. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue - (previously unreleased)
    6. I'm a King Bee - (previously unreleased)
    7. Big Boss Man - (previously unreleased)
    8. Standing on the Corner - (previously unreleased)
    9. In the Pines - (previously unreleased)
    10. Nobody's Fault but Mine - (previously unreleased)
    11. Next Time You See Me - (previously unreleased)
    12. One Kind Favor - (previously unreleased)
    13. He Was a Friend of Mine - (previously unreleased)
    14. Keep Rolling By - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 74391

  • Credits
    EngineerRock Scully; Gene Estribou; Leo De Gar Kulka

    The Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pig Pen" McKernan (vocals, harmonica, organ); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
    Additional personnel: John Hendricks (vocals).
    Compilation producers: Dennis McNally, Lou Tambakos.
    Recorded between 1965 & 1967.
    Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, harmonica, organ); Jon Hendricks, Bob Weir (vocals); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
    Recording information: Buena Vista Studio, San Francisco, CA (11/03/1965-04/??/1967); Columbus Recorders, San Francisco, CA (11/03/1965-04/??/1967); Golden State Recorders, San Francisco, CA (11/03/1965-04/??/1967); San Francisco, CA (11/03/1965-04/??/1967); Western Recording, San Francisco, CA (11/03/1965-04/??/1967).
    Photographers: Herbert Greene; Paul & Barry Ryan.
    Arrangers: Jerry Garcia; Jon Hendricks; Phil Lesh; Ron "Pigpen" McKernan; Bill Kreutzmann; Bob Weir.
    For those who don't wish to bust their budgets on the 12-CD box set that this double-CD release originated from, BIRTH OF THE DEAD is an illuminating glimpse of the Grateful Dead's first steps, including demos and live tracks, which finds the collective emerging from its jug band beginnings into a vibrant folk rock outfit. They perform a rocked-up version of the ancient jug band song "Stealin'," and there's a rarity in "Fire in the City," featuring jazz singer Jon Hendricks, which was originally recorded for an anti-Vietnam War documentary. The second disc's live set includes a wealth of blues and folk covers, including Dylan's "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" and the mournful "In the Pines," all played with the nervous energy of a band that's unsure of just what thrills and terrors lurk around the corner.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.90
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for