CD Crescent [EP] (CD 1000738),
back to browsing

Crescent [EP]

  • 1. Sun
    2. * - (asterisk)
    3. Unit System
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 41

  • Credits

    Also known as the Sun EP due to the lead track, the band's most well-known given its appearance on three separate recordings, this three song disc remains a great introduction to Crescent's work and world. "Sun" itself is a fantastic mix of fierce playing from the band and aggressive, intentionally unclean production -- think of an early, less-rootsy Swervedriver heard through a wall with a different singer. Said singer, lead band member Matt Jones, feeds his vocals through heavy distortion to increase the weird feeling of the song, while a quiet midsection gives a brief respite in between explosions. "*" makes for an interesting follow-up, sounding something like a drunk jazz band late at night with Jones muttering low vocals in the distance. It's not deathless, but has an odd, dank charm. The extended "Unit System" closes the disc with a low, clattering drumbeat in the distance, guitar, bass and keyboard parts emerging from the production murk and a lengthy movie or interview segment unfolding throughout. At once dreamy and nightmarish, it's a strong, fascinating song. ~ Ned Raggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for