CD Free as a Bird [US Single] [Single] (CD 945614),
back to browsing

Free as a Bird [US Single] [Single]

  • 1. Free as a Bird
    2. I Saw Her Standing There
    3. This Boy
    4. Christmas Time Is Here Again
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 8825872

  • Credits

    Producers: John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Richard Starkey, Jeff Lynne, Ringo Starr, George Martin.
    Engineers: Geoff Emerick, Norman Smith.
    "Free As A Bird" is the Beatles' first new recording in 25 years. Written by the late John Lennon, the song was fleshed out and recorded in 1994 by the three surviving Beatles--Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr--using Lennon's lead vocal and piano track from a demo recorded in the late 1970s.
    The song was debuted on November 19, 1995 during the television broadcast of the documentary "The Beatles Anthology."
    This 1994 single came the closest as anything to reunite the Beatles. Along with the title track adapted from vocal tracks John Lennon laid down in his final year, FREE AS A BIRD contains two reworkings of Beatles classics and a rare Christmas tune.
    Everyone in the world had an opinion about the "new" Beatles single "Free As A Bird" in late 1995. Mine is that it's not half bad -- which is far from being great. And great was what the world expected in the wake of a massive, and somewhat misleading marketing campaign. If you are a moderate Beatle fan and just want a copy of the new song, this may be the most economical way to get it. If you are a completist, note that this four-song, 13-minute-and-40-second EP is baited with three previously unreleased tracks, studio take nine of "I Saw Her Standing There," two incomplete takes of "This Boy," and a newly edited version of the fan club-only seasonal song "Christmas Time (Is Here Again)." ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for