CD Garage, Inc. [Edited] (CD 393195),
back to browsing

Garage, Inc. [Edited]

  • 0. DISC 1: NEW RECORDINGS 1998:
    1. Free Speech for the Dumb
    2. It's Electric
    3. Sabbra Cadabra
    4. Turn the Page
    5. Die, Die My Darling
    6. Loverman
    7. Mercyful Fate: Satan's Fall / Curse Of The Pharaohs / A Corpse Without Soul / Into The Coven / Evil
    8. Astronomy
    9. Whiskey in the Jar
    10. Tuesday's Gone
    11. More I See, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Helpless
    2. Small Hours, The
    3. Wait, The
    4. Crash Course in Brain Surgery
    5. Last Caress / Green Hell
    6. Am I Evil?
    7. Blitzkrieg
    8. Breadfan
    9. Prince, The
    10. Stone Cold Crazy
    11. So What
    12. Killing Time
    13. Overkill
    14. Damage Case
    15. Stone Dead Forever
    16. Too Late Too Late
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 62323

  • Credits

    GARAGE INC. includes the GARAGE DAYS RE-REVISITED EP as well as rare B-sides and newly recorded covers.
    Metallica: James Hetfield (vocals, guitar); Kirk Hammett (guitar); Cliff Burton (bass); Jason Newsted (bass); Lars Ulrich (drums).
    Additional personnel: Jerry Cantrell, Les Claypool, Pepper Keenan, Sean Kinney, Jim Martin, John Popper, Gary Rossington.
    Producers: Bob Rock, Metallica, Mark Whitaker.
    Engineers include: Randy Staub, Csaba Petocz, Jeffrey Norman.
    Disc one recorded at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, California in September & October 1998. Disc two recorded at various locations between 1984 and 1998. Includes liner notes by David Fricke.
    "Whiskey In The Jar" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance.
    Anybody who's anybody in rock has been in a cover band. Although "cover" has a negative connotation, it is the playing of others' material that forges the identity and agenda of future superstars. Every recorded cover tune from Metallica plus 11 newly recorded covers are included in this double-CD set. They combine to give fans a glimpse into the wide variety of influences that have shaped metal's mightiest band.
    Disc one is the new material, and Metallica place their undeniable stamp on each track. Transforming Bob Seger's midtempo "Turn the Page" into a real rocker, and converting Nick Cave's "Loverman" into sheer brutality. Closer to the mark of Metallica's style, a Mercyful Fate medley retains the spirit of the original. James Hetfield's growls give an extra dose of attitude to Thin Lizzy's "Whiskey In The Jar," while an acoustic radio station jam of Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Tuesday's Gone" is a southern delight. Disc 2 contains GARAGE DAYS RE-REVISITED, which had been out of print and heavily bootlegged. Rounding out the package are B-sides and one-offs including four Motorhead covers the band rehearsed for Lemmy's birthday party.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/10/99, p.122) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Gloriously hard as the album is, you can't miss Metallica's good natured side coming through..."
    Entertainment Weekly (12/18/98, p.84) - "...We'll have to wait until Metallica's next `proper' album to find out if this trip to the garage recharges their batteries. Still, all things considered, GARAGE INC. is an intermittently exhilarating joyride." - Rating: B-
    CMJ (12/21/98, p.29) - "...Those who still relate to the adolescent angst of the 'Metallicats' earliest days will find plenty to like on GARAGE INC..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $23.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for