CD Guaranteed [Bonus Tracks] (CD 4643284),
back to browsing

Guaranteed [Bonus Tracks]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Guaranteed
    2. Overtime
    3. Her Big Day
    4. Seven Years
    5. Set Me Up
    6. Ape, The
    7. My Father's Shoes
    8. Kinder Eye, A
    9. She Can't Help Herself
    10. If You Were Mine
    11. Lasso the Moon
    12. With a Little Love
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Guaranteed
    2. All She Wants
    3. Guaranteed - (The New Avengers Mix)
    4. Guaranteed [Wheel Spin Warrior Mix]
    5. Overtime
    6. At This Great Distance
    7. Overtime - (The 'Lorimer' Mix)
    8. Overtime [the Hen Pecked Horns Mix]
    9. Overtime [the King Mix Radio Version]
    10. Overtime - (live)
    11. Guaranteed - (live)
    12. If You Were Mine - (live)
    13. My Father's Shoes
    14. As Years Go By
    15. Her Big Day - (live)
    16. Sun Goes Down, The (Living It Up) - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2037

  • Credits
    ProducerLevel 42; Wally Badarou
    EngineerDave Dixon; Level 42; Wally Badarou

    Level 42: Mike Lindup (keyboards, vocals); Mark King (bass, vocals); Gary Husband (drums, vocals, keyboards).
    Additional personnel: Annie McCaig (vocals); Allan Holdsworth, Dominic Miller (guitar); Gary Barnacle (saxophone); John Thirkell (trumpet).
    Personnel: Gary Husband (vocals, keyboards, drums); Wally Badarou, Mike Lindup (vocals, keyboards); Mark "45" King, Annie McCaig (vocals); Dominic Miller, Allan Holdsworth (guitar); Gary Barnacle (saxophone); John Thirkell (trumpet).
    Audio Mixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
    Audio Remixers: Mark "45" King; Pete Lorimer.
    Liner Note Author: Alan Robinson .
    Recording information: The Summerhouse.
    Photographer: Patrick Eden.
    After several hit albums in the U.K., Level 42 finally found American success with the 1986 album World Machine and its hit single, "Something About You." When 1987's follow-up release Running in the Family also scored on this side of the Atlantic, it seemed Level 42 was here to stay. But 1988's Staring at the Sun was an artistic catastrophe and a commercial failure, and Level 42 would never again reach the artistic and commercial peak of its two U.S. successes. Guaranteed was a considerably better album than Staring at the Sun -- not that the band could do much worse -- but it went virtually unnoticed in America. The departure of founding members and primary songwriters Phil and Boon Gould in late 1987 began a series of major setbacks for Level 42. The Staring at the Sun album was misguided and flat, and replacement members Alan Murphy and Gary Husband didn't seem to gel. To throw the band into further disarray, Murphy died of AIDS in late 1989 and Level 42 was dropped from Polydor after almost a decade. Apart from a 1989 greatest-hits album, the band had not released a new album in three years. The group recruited guitarists Alan Holdsworth and Dominic Miller and signed with RCA, which released Guaranteed in 1991. Guaranteed boasts a number of catchy, if unremarkable, pop tunes; the title track (a Top 20 hit in the U.K.) is pleasant enough, and the almost-country number "My Father's Shoes" is unlike anything else the band ever recorded. Vocalist and bassist Mark King, who sounded nearly comatose on Staring at the Sun, is rejuvenated and energetic here, particularly on the upbeat "Overtime" and the funky "Her Big Day." Keyboardist Mike Lindup leads on one of the album's best tracks, the ballad "Lasso the Moon," and "With a Little Love" is a simple but engaging plea for (what else) love, peace, and happiness. Unfortunately, many of the songs here are dull and forgettable. The band itself is in top form, but even the best musicians can't do much with lifeless material. A couple of tracks are downright awful; "The Ape" is as silly as the title, and the overblown "If You Were Mine" is the album's worst song, proving drummer Gary Husband isn't much of a songwriter. It's nice that Level 42 was able to regain some of its credibility with this album; Staring at the Sun was so mind-bogglingly awful, anything the band had recorded afterward would have been an improvement. But compared to the rest of the band's output, Guaranteed barely registers. It isn't necessarily a bad album, but one listen makes it painfully obvious that Level 42 was on its last legs. The band would release one more album (1995's very good Forever Now) before disbanding. ~ William Cooper

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.87) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[N]ewcomer Gary Husband delivered the most progressive song of the set, the mesmerising 'If You Were Mine'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for