CD Hey! Ho! Let's Go: Ramones Anthology (CD 532689),
back to browsing

Hey! Ho! Let's Go: Ramones Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Blitzkrieg Bop
    2. Beat on the Brat
    3. Judy Is a Punk
    4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend
    5. 53rd and 3rd
    6. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue
    7. Glad to See You Go
    8. Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment
    9. I Remember You
    10. California Sun
    11. Commando
    12. Swallow My Pride
    13. Carbona Not Glue
    14. Pinhead
    15. Sheena Is a Punk Rocker
    16. Cretin Hop
    17. Rockaway Beach
    18. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
    19. Teenage Lobotomy
    20. Surfin' Bird
    21. I Don't Care
    22. I Just Want to Have Something to Do
    23. I Wanna Be Sedated
    24. Don't Come Close
    25. She's the One
    26. Needles and Pins
    27. Rock 'N' Roll High School
    28. I Want You Around
    29. Do You Remember Rock 'N' Roll Radio?
    30. I Can't Make It on Time
    31. Chinese Rocks
    32. I'm Affected
    33. Danny Says
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Kkk Took My Baby Away, The
    2. She's a Sensation
    3. It's Not My Place (In the 9 to 5 World)
    4. We Want the Airwaves
    5. Psychotherapy
    6. Howling at the Moon (Sha la la)
    7. Mama's Boy
    8. Daytime Dilemma (Dangers of Love)
    9. I'm Not Afraid of Life
    10. Too Tough to Die
    11. Endless Vacation
    12. My Brain Is Hanging Upside Down (Bonzo Goes to Bitburg)
    13. Someone Put Something in My Drink
    14. Something to Believe In
    15. I Don't Wanna Live This Life (Anymore)
    16. I Wanna Live
    17. Garden of Serenity
    18. Merry Christmas (I Don't Want to Fight Tonight)
    19. Pet Semetary
    20. I Believe in Miracles
    21. Tomorrow She Goes Away
    22. Poison Heart
    23. I Don't Want to Grow Up
    24. She Talks to Rainbows
    25. R.A.M.O.N.E.S.
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 75817

  • Credits

    Includes a hardcover 80 page booklet with liner notes by David Fricke.
    The Ramones: Joey Ramone (vocals); Johnny Ramone (guitar); Dee Dee Ramone (vocals, bass); C.J. Ramone (bass); Tommy Ramone, Marky Ramone, Ritchie Ramone (drums).
    Producers include: Craig Leon, Tony Bongiovi, T. Erdelyi, Ed Stasium, Daniel Rey.
    Compilation producers: Bill Inglot, Gary Stewart, Don Williams.
    It took four Queens punks who could barely string together four chords to revitalize American rock & roll. The Ramones torpedoed self-important '70s arena-rock, stripping it down to its foundations. Thanks to their pop smarts, they became the nation's favorite and perhaps most influential punk rock outfit.
    The Ramones' music has always echoed a Phil Spector-esque sense of melodic structure. HEY HO LET'S GO! is a delirious, nonstop rush of barreling drums and guitars topped with bubblegum melodies. The emphasis is on the band's seminal '70s output. "Blitzkrieg Bop," "Rockaway Beach," "Teenage Lobotomy," and "I Wanna Be Sedated" whiz past like no-frills Lear jets. The Ramones' power lies in their simplicity; you won't even find a guitar solo here. The band's post-'70s output is a mixed bag, but the second disc includes a sampling of its brighter moments. To the Ramones credit, they held on to their ideals and never played unplugged, released a concept album, or recorded a song that outstayed its welcome.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (7/23/99, p.69) - "...the great early stuff on the first CD hits so straight, deep, and true, it'd be churlish to judge this well-intentioned collection too harshly..." - Rating: B
    Q (5/02 SE, p.140) - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums".
    Q (11/99, p.154) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...essential to anyone who wants a better, less pointless life, yet can't be bothered buying five Ramones albums..."
    Alternative Press (9/99, p.110) - 4 out of 5 - "...overall this is a set that should please both hardcore fans and wannabe new-school punks."
    Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.31) - Included in Mojo Magazine's "Best Boxed Sets" of 1999.
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for