CD Live Blood [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [826992026626] (CD 16010024),
back to browsing

Live Blood [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [826992026626]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Intruder
    2. Wallflower
    3. Boy in the Bubble, The
    4. Aprs Moi
    5. Drop, The
    6. Washing of the Water
    7. Book of Love, The
    8. Darkness
    9. Power of the Heart, The
    10. Biko
    11. San Jacinto
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Digging in the Dirt
    2. Signal to Noise
    3. Downside Up - (featuring Melanie Gabriel)
    4. Mercy Street
    5. Rhythm of the Heat, The
    6. Blood of Eden
    7. Red Rain
    8. Solsbury Hill
    9. In Your Eyes - (featuring Sevara Nazarkhan)
    10. Don't Give Up
    11. Nest That Sailed the Sky, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20266

  • Credits
    ProducerRichard Chappell
    EngineerRichard Chappell; Will Shapland

    Personnel: Tom Cawley (vocals, piano); Deborah Widdup, Charles Mutter, Roland Roberts, Alison Dods, Louisa Fuller, Martin Burgess, Clare Hayes, Kathy Shave, Odile Ollagnon, Ian Belton, Natalia Bonner, Ian Humphries, Rita Manning, Cathy Thompson, Jeremy Morris, Emma Parker (violin); Jon Thorne, Reiad Chibah, Fiona Bonds, Ian Rathbone, Paul Cassidy, Helen Kamminga (viola); Ian Burdge, Will Schofield, Nick Roberts, Caroline Dale, Jacqueline Thomas , Chris Worsey (cello); Eliza Marshall (flute, alto flute, piccolo); Jon Carnac (clarinet, bass clarinet); Alun Darbyshire (oboe); Sarah Burnett (bassoon); Dan Newell, Andy Crowley (trumpet, piccolo trumpet); Phil Woods, Nigel Black (French horn); Dan Jenkins, Tracy Holloway (tenor trombone); Mark Frost (bass trombone); David Powell (tuba); John Metcalfe (brass, celesta, percussion); Steve Rossell, Ben Russell, Chris Laurence, Richard Pryce (double bass); Joby Burgess, Rob Farrer (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Richard Sharratt.
    Recording information: The HMV Hammersmith Apollo, London (03/23/2011-03/24/2011).
    Photographer: York Yillyer.
    Arrangers: Peter Gabriel; John Metcalfe.
    Capturing a concert held at London's Hammersmith Apollo in March of 2011, several months prior to the release of his re-interpretive record New Blood, the double-disc Live Blood sounds very similar to the subsequent LP and its 2010 predecessor Scratch My well it should, as all the performances are based on the same austere arrangements. Gabriel is fascinated by subtleties that lie within an orchestra, so the music on Live Blood doesn't pummel, it creeps, slowly working its way underneath the skin. As such, Live Blood doesn't feel quite as visceral as Gabriel's previous live albums do: it's pitched at the head, not the heart. That means that it requires concentration without quite demanding it, so it can be difficult to meet Live Blood halfway, and its sly, delicately textured rewards are ones to appreciate and ponder, not to cherish. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (Magazine) (p.100) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he concert setting adds excitement....The ensemble take more risks with Gabriel's own songs, pulling them into bold new shapes..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.59
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for