CD LP [Ambulance LTD] (CD 175269),
back to browsing

LP [Ambulance LTD]

    1. Yoga Means Union
    2. Primitive (The Way I Treat You)
    3. Anecdote
    4. Heavy Lifting
    5. Ophelia
    6. Stay Where You Are
    7. Sugar Pill
    8. Michigan
    9. Stay Tuned
    10. Swim
    11. Young Urban
    12. Ocean, The - (Hidden Track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2630

  • Credits
    EngineerBarny; Barney

    Contains an untitled hidden track following "Young Urban."
    Ambulance Ltd. Marcus Congleton, Darren Beckett, Benjamin Lysaght, Matthew Dublin.
    Producers include: Ambulance Ltd., Barny, Ron A. Shaeffer, Jim Abbiss, Chris Zane.
    Audio Mixers: Jim Abbiss; Barney .
    Recording information: London, England; New York, NY.
    Photographer: John Wilkes.
    The first full-length album by New York City's Ambulance LTD offers up a whirlwind tour of rock from the 1960s to the '90s, while remaining surprisingly unique. Although the quartet proudly displays British influences ranging from the Beatles to the Smiths to Ride, the group synthesizes aspects of these bands into a melodic, guitar-driven, and unpredictable set of songs. The bold opening instrumental, "Yoga Means Union," builds to a deliriously energetic crescendo, while the following tune, "Primitive (The Way I Treat You)," dives into a slinky pop groove. Though "Anecdote," with its acoustic-guitar strumming and buoyant vocal harmonies, keeps the tone light and upbeat, Ambulance LTD also trades heavily in moody, atmospheric songs, as best exemplified by the ebb and flow of "Heavy Lifting" and the gorgeously airy "Stay Where You Are." Like fellow 2004 breakouts Franz Ferdinand, Ambulance LTD knows how to craft a fresh and intriguing sound out of rock's past, making LP one of the year's most welcome debuts.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.69) - "[T]his alluring debut is hard to shake off....Few have Ambulance's potent brew of literate lyrics, warm-fuzzy riffs, and infectious hooks." - Grade: B+
    CMJ (4/04, p.34) - "[T]heir music is more than just chugging chords and a sneer....The songs continue at a steady clip, yet the introduction of Marcus Congleton's gentle, spoke-sung intonation recalls the more vulnerable side of the Velvet Underground's proto-punk."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.29
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for