CD Once Bitten Twice Shy (5099749628427) (CD 1280088),
back to browsing

Once Bitten Twice Shy (5099749628427)

  • 1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
    2. Who Do You Love
    3. Colwater High
    4. One Fine Day
    5. Truth, The Whole Truth, Nuthin' But the Truth, The
    6. All American Alien Boy
    7. Common Disease
    8. Justice of the Peace
    9. When the Daylight Comes
    10. Cleveland Rocks
    11. Bastard
    12. Gun Control
    13. Speechless
    14. Traitor
    15. Teacher
    16. Great Expectations
    17. Good Man in a Bad Time
    18. Women's Intuition
    19. Ain't No Way to Treat a Lady
    20. All the Young Dudes
    21. Shades Off
    22. Boy
    23. Letter to Britannia From the Union Jack
    24. You Nearly Did Me In
    25. Advice to a Friend
    26. Shallow Crystals
    27. Ships
    28. Standing in My Light
    29. Outsider, The
    30. Junkman With Genya Ravan
    31. Old Records Never Die
    32. All of the Good Ones Are Taken
    33. Seeing Double
    34. Bluebirds
    35. Sunshine Eyes
    36. Ill Wind
    37. All Is Forgiven
    38. Michael Picasso
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4962842

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Ian Hunter (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, percussion); Genya Ravan (vocals, percussion); Mick Ronson, Mick Jones, Gerry Weems (guitar); Arnie Lawrence (clarinet); David Sanborn (alto saxophone); Clarence Clemons (tenor saxophone); Lewis Soloff (trumpet); David Bargeron (trombone); Peter Arnesen (piano); Geoff Appleby (bass, background vocals); Jaco Pastorius (bass); Dennis Elliot (drums, percusssion); Ansley Dunbar, Wax Weinberg (drums).
    Def Leppard: Vivian Campbell, Phil Collen (guitar); Rick Savage (bass); Rick Allen (drums, background vocals); Joe Elliot (background vocals).
    Queen: Roger Taylor (drums, background vocals); Freddie Mercury, Brian May.
    Producers include: Ian Hunter, Mick Ronson, Max Norman, Spencer Proffer, Bjorn Nessjo.
    Recorded between 1974 & 1999. Includes liner notes by Joe Elliot.
    Best known for such immortal pop masterpieces as "All the Way From Memphis" and the David Bowie-penned "All the Young Dudes," Ian Hunter went from fronting Mott The Hoople straight into a critically acclaimed solo career that influenced artists including The Clash, Kiss, Blur, and Oasis. Divided into separate sets of Rockers and Ballads, this 2-CD set is a variable mix of classic Hunter sides along with hard-to-find B-sides, alternate versions, and previously unreleased material.
    The best moments of Rockers come from Hunter's early career. "All American Alien Boy" could be a Philly soul brother to David Bowie's "Young Americans," while "Colwater High" and "One Fine Day" are pounding numbers that just missed inclusion on the singer-songwriter's fine solo debut. Other highlights include Hunter's only political song ("Gun Control") and a previously unreleased live version of "All the Young Dudes" featuring Def Leppard. '70s songs also make up the best moments of Ballads and include the Queen collaboration "You Nearly Did Me In," and "(God) Advice To a Friend," another unreleased gem that finds Hunter doing his best Dylan impersonation.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (7/28/00, p.183) - "...Its sly anthems and forthright ballads...affirm the unshakable humanity and integrity of this true rock & roll believer." - Rating: B+
    Mojo (Publisher) (9/00, pp.110-11) - "...This unique mix of glitzy superstardom, glorious naivete and down-home Shrewsbury commonsense still sounds great..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.93
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for