CD Onyx [Digipak] * (CD 7010887),
back to browsing

Onyx [Digipak] *

  • 1. Onyx
    2. Living End, The
    3. Portal, A
    4. ((Ghostlights))
    5. Majesty
    6. Heathen Island, The
    7. By Candlelight & Mirrors
    8. Venice (In Fog)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 312212

  • Credits
    ProducerRune Eriksen; Daniel Cardoso
    EngineerJaime S. Ferreira; Hugo Andrade; Daniel Cardoso

    Personnel: Carmen Simoes (vocals); Andr Sobral (guitar); Rune Eriksen (guitars, sampler, background vocals); Joao "Bandido" Samora (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Dan Swan.
    Recording information: Bandido's Warehouse Of Stolen Bikerparts, Lisboa, PT (06/2010-08/2010); TopRoom Studio, Grindvoll, NO (06/2010-08/2010); Ultrasound Studio, Moita, PT (06/2010-08/2010); Your Tomb, Almada, PT (06/2010-08/2010).
    Arranger: Rune Eriksen.
    Ava Inferi's fourth album doesn't stand out from the crowded glut of doom goth releases of its time, but that doesn't mean it's without merit. Rune Eriksen's songs plod along morbidly, striving more for dark atmosphere than memorable choruses. Really, no track registers as a memorable, distinctive entity, except perhaps "The Heathen Island" with its horror film samples, though it is a welcome moment when Eriksen lends his brooding Andrew Eldritch-like voice to "The Living End." Lead singer Carmen Simoes is no slouch, but when she lingers in high octaves, as she's prone, some listeners will likely reach for the skip or delete button. The band's theatrical moody approach to goth rock isn't original by any stretch, but Onyx is a likable and listenable -- yet tame -- offering. ~ Tim DiGravina

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for