CD Planet Sleeps [074646777220] (CD 399551),
back to browsing

Planet Sleeps [074646777220]

  • 1. Chi Mi Na Mr-Bheanna - The Rankin Family
    2. Yhanaway Hay Yowna - Sherry Blakey-Smith
    3. Phnom Penh Lullaby - Hun Sarath/Marc Marder/Hun Sarath
    4. Ana Latu - Kingdom Of Tonga Cultural Group
    5. Berceuse - Houria Aichi
    6. Hace Tuto Guagua - Familion
    7. Mayi a Gaye - Boukman Eksperyans
    8. Ag Croist an Siol - Maria Doyle-Kennedy/Kieran Kennedy/Liam O Maonla/Maria Doyle Kennedy
    9. Sweet Bitowo - Wes
    10. Sleep, Queen of the Dolls - Baluji Shrivastav
    11. Fais Do Do, Colin Mon Petit Frre - Sophie Meriem Rockwell
    12. Noomey - Haya Samir/Yermi Kaplan
    13. Itsuki No Komoriuta - Japanese Music Ensemble Of New York
    14. Schlafe, Mein Prinzchen Schlaf Ein - Michelle
    15. Moe Moe - Hinewehi Mohi
    16. Oj Talasi - Trebevic Choir
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 67772

  • Credits
    ProducerEric Clermontet; David Field; Maria Doyle-Kennedy; Tato Gomez; Marc Marder; Michel Sanchez; Baluji Shrivastav
    EngineerPaddy Free; Ed Tuton; Ingmar Kiang; Tato Gomez; Kieran Kennedy; Michel Sanchez; Robert Denis; Baluji Shrivastav

    This is an Enhanced CD containing a full audio program as well as multimedia computer files.
    Fifty cents from the sale of each copy of THE PLANET SLEEPS will be donated to UNICEF.
    THE PLANET SLEEPS was nominated for a 1998 Grammy Award for Best Recording Package.
    Personnel: Daniel Valladares (vocals, charango); Michel Melthon Lynch, Theodore "Lolo" Beaubrun, Jr., Henry Joseph Pierre, Marjorie Beaubrun, Maggie Jean-Louis, Heather Rankin, Atsuko Yma, Bibi Gomez, Daniel Beaubrun, Mimerose "Manze" Beaubrun, Hans Dominique, Tato Gomez, Gary Seney, Jimmy Rankin (vocals); Bill Akiaki, Oren Kaplan (guitar); Kieran Kennedy (acoustic guitar, keyboards, chimes); Ulla Van Daelen (harp); Kevin Murphy (cello); Marc Marder (double bass, programming); Zohar Fresco (percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Felix Pando; Tato Gomez; Kieran Kennedy; Michel Sanchez.
    Illustrator: Jason Holley.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Bernard Makoare; Fusaka Yoshida; Michael Francis; Ray Parker, Jr.; Ronnie Nyogetsu Seldin .
    Arrangers: Tato Gomez; Marc Marder.
    THE PLANET SLEEPS is an international compilation of indigenous lullabies from North America to New Zealand. This album contains soothing bed-time sounds from the likes of France, Maori, and Cambodia, to name a few. THE PLANET SLEEPS truly offers an authentic world music sound, with the traditional aspect of the music enhanced by using field recording as well as the studio format.
    On "Sweet Bitowo," performed by Wes Madiko, the sounds of the jungle provide an ethereal background ambiance for Madiko's percussion-and-vocal-heavy lullaby. Although the compositions are sung in the artists' native tongues, the booklet which accompanies the disc gives translations for every non-English song. David Field, the album's field researcher has not only compiled a fine collection of lullabies, he's also captured a sense of the heritage and tradition too often ignored in world music compilations.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (5/9/97, p.81) - "...more than a hip multi-culti soundtrack for putting the kids to bed. It's about the need for sanctuary that's reflected in every country's lullabies." - Rating: A-
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.59
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for