CD Remnants of a Deeper Purity (CD 910995),
back to browsing

Remnants of a Deeper Purity

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Redefine Pure Faith
    2. Fin de Siecle
    3. With My Sorrows
    4. For You Will Burn Your Wings Upon the Sun
    5. Wings Tattered Fallen
    6. Fitful
    7. Remnants of a Deeper Purity
    8. Again, To Drift
    9. I Have No More Answers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. En la Mar Ay una Torre
    2. With My Sorrows Part 2
    3. With My Sorrows Part 3
    4. I Have No More Answers
    5. Redefine Pure Faith - (Live)
    6. Through Sky Blue Room - (Live)
    7. Remnants of a Deeper Purity - (Live)
    8. Across a Thousand Blades
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1862

  • Credits

    Black Tape for a Blue Girl: Lucian Casselman, Oscar Herrera, Sam Rosenthal, Vicki Richards, Mera Roberts.
    For the first time since the earliest recordings, Sam Rosenthal assembles and employs a set combination of musicians throughout a Black Tape for a Blue Girl album, with Oscar Herrera and Lucian Casselman returning on vocals and other instruments, along with longtime associate Vicki Richards on violin and Mera Roberts on cello. The end result succeeds like no other Black Tape release before it, the logical extension of Rosenthal's musical and lyrical foci into a lengthy, commanding, and beautiful experience. Using the two string players throughout with his electronics in a carefully blended effort, punching up the general orchestral heft of his music to new heights, Rosenthal's work this time hits a consistently rich vein; the connections to rock music have never been so tenuous, and to progressive and electronic efforts so strong. Two of Herrera's performances deserve special notice: "With My Sorrows," ending with a captivating quick take on an old Spanish poem, and "For You Will Burn Your Wings Upon the Sun," a nearly 30-minute piece with Herrera's brief vocal section providing the central punch of the track. But Casselman steals the show with the final track, "I Have No More Answers" -- a simply perfect mix of the strings, vast-sounding electronic atmospherics, and piano with Casselman's lovely voice singing an especially touching Rosenthal lyric, it is Black Tape's finest song yet. ~ Ned Raggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (11/01, p.104) - Included in AP's "10 Essential Goth Albums" - "...Gets the nod for its cohesion and for the hair-raisingly effective use of classical instrumentation alongside the electronics..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for