CD Sandinista! [Remaster] (CD 393128),
back to browsing

Sandinista! [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Magnificent Seven, The
    2. Hitsville U.K.
    3. Junco Partner
    4. Ivan Meets G.I. Joe
    5. Leader, The
    6. Something About England
    7. Rebel Waltz
    8. Look Here
    9. Crooked Beat, The
    10. Somebody Got Murdered
    11. One More Time
    12. One More Dub
    13. Lightning Strikes (Not Once But Twice)
    14. Up in Heaven (Not Only Here)
    15. Corner Soul
    16. Let's Go Crazy
    17. If Music Could Talk
    18. Sound of Sinners, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Police on My Back
    2. Midnight Log
    3. Equaliser, The
    4. Call Up, The
    5. Washington Bullets
    6. Broadway
    7. Lose This Skin
    8. Charlie Don't Surf
    9. Mensforth Hill
    10. Junkie Slip
    11. Kingston Advice
    12. Street Parade, The
    13. Version City
    14. Living in Fame
    15. Silicone on Sapphire
    16. Version Pardner
    17. Career Opportunities
    18. Shepherds Delight
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 63888

  • Credits
    ProducerThe Clash
    EngineerMaxie Mckenzie; J.D. Nicholson; Jerry Green; Bill Price

    3 LPs on 2 CDs.
    The Clash: Joe Strummer, Mick Jones (vocals, guitar); Paul Simonon (vocals, bass); Topper Headon (drums).
    Additional personnel: Mickey Gallagher, Timon Dogg, Norman Watt-Roy, J.P. Nicholson, Ellen Foley, David Payne, Ray Gasconne, Band Sargeant Dave Yates, Den Hegarty, Gary & Bill Barnacle, Luke & Ben & Maria Gallagher, Jody Winscott, Ivan Julian, Noel Tempo Bailey, Anthony Nelson Steelie, Lew Lewis, Gerald Baxter-Warman, Terry McQuade, Rudolph Adolphus Jordan, Battersea.
    Digitally remastered by Ray Staff & Bob Whitney (Whitfield Street Studios).
    Personnel: Mick Jones , Joe Strummer (vocals, guitar); Topper Headon (vocals, snare drum); Ellen Foley, Mike Dreas, Paul Simonon, Tymon Dogg (vocals); J.D. Nicholson, Mick Gallagher (keyboards).
    Audio Mixers: Mikey Dread; Bill Price .
    Animation: Steve Bell.
    Photographer: Pennie Smith.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Davey Payne; Den Hegarty; Ray Gascogne; Norman Watt-Roy.
    SANDINISTA! was the Clash's affirmation of their support for the Nicaraguan revolution, the movement that overthrew President Somoza and aroused the ire of U.S. President Reagan. The music was a more conscious exploration of reggae and dub music than the Clash had ever attempted. The group fought their record company to keep the 3-LP set affordable to their fans, accepting lower royalty rates so the price would be as low as a single LP.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (12/99, pp.152-3) - 4 stars out of 5 - " exceptionally high strike-rate....there was real quality..."
    Alternative Press (11/00, p.144) - Included in AP's "10 Essential Political-Revolution Albums"
    Alternative Press (3/00, pp.74-5) - 4 out of 5 - "...This is the Clash set that will still likely enchant into tomorrow for its foolhardy attempts at awe-inspiring successes....a manageable listen..."
    Magnet (p.114) - "[T]ackling dub, gospel and surf rock with the same fervor with which the Clash had already mastered punk, reggae and rockabilly."
    CMJ (1/5/04, p.8) - Ranked #2 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1981".
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for