CD Singles [Bonus Track] (CD 531202),
back to browsing

Singles [Bonus Track]

  • 1. Ceremony
    2. Procession
    3. Everything's Gone Green
    4. Temptation
    5. Blue Monday
    6. Confusion
    7. Thieves Like Us
    8. Perfect Kiss, The
    9. Sub-Culture
    10. Shellshock
    11. State of the Nation
    12. Bizarre Love Triangle
    13. True Faith
    14. 1963
    15. Touched by the Hand of God
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Blue Monday '88
    2. Fine Time
    3. Round and Round
    4. Run 2
    5. World in Motion
    6. Regret
    7. Ruined in a Day
    8. World
    9. Spooky
    10. Crystal
    11. 60 Miles an Hour
    12. Here to Stay
    13. Krafty
    14. Jetstream
    15. Waiting for the Sirens' Call
    16. Turn
    17. Temptation - (Secret Machines Remix, Secret Machines remix, bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 73304

  • Credits
    ProducerSteve Osborne; New Order; John Leckie; John Robie; Martin Hannett; Stephen Hague; Stephen Street; The Chemical Brothers; Jim Spencer; Stuart Price; Steve Osborne; New Order

    New Order (UK): Peter Hook.
    Audio Mixers: Mark "Spike" Stent; Rich Costey; Jeremy Wheatley.
    Audio Remixers: Arthur Baker; Johnny Potoker.
    Liner Note Author: David Quantick.
    Photographer: Donald Christie.
    After almost 20 years, New Order finally released a compilation that arguably exceeds 1987's SUBSTANCE with 2005's two-disc SINGLES. In terms of the material's breadth, SINGLES easily trounces SUBSTANCE, as it ranges from '81 to '05 and serves as an excellent overview of the famed post-punk/dance act's entire career. While the band's transition from Joy Division gets a slightly shorter shrift ("In a Lonely Place" is one of the few tracks from SUBSTANCE that's notably absent), the second disc is a wonderfully selected sampling of New Order's occasionally maligned later period.
    Arranged chronologically, SINGLES moves from the group's first true steps out of Joy Division's shadow (the surging classics "Everything's Gone Green," "Temptation," and "Blue Monday") to jubilant pop glory (the catchy smash "Bizarre Love Triangle," the dance floor anthem "True Faith") and, eventually, to their status as veteran dance-rock heroes (the eminently assured "Regret" and "Crystal"). Although some fans may be perplexed by versions of songs that differ from SUBSTANCE (particularly "Temptation" and "Confusion"), SINGLES is so comprehensive that it should even win over New Order diehards still clinging tightly to their vinyl copies of the lauded former collection.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.89) - "[T]hey can still wring more soul from a drum machine than most anybody." -- Grade: B+
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for