CD Steppenwolf [Steppenwolf] (CD 532276),
back to browsing

Steppenwolf [Steppenwolf]

  • 1. Sookie Sookie
    2. Everybody's Next One
    3. Berry Rides Again
    4. Hoochie Coochie Man
    5. Born to Be Wild
    6. Your Wall's Too High
    7. Desperation
    8. Pusher, The
    9. Girl I Knew, A
    10. Take What You Need
    11. Ostrich, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 31020

  • Credits
    ProducerGabriel Mekler
    EngineerRichard Polodor; Bill Cooper

    Steppenwolf: John Kay (vocals, guitar); Michael Monarch (guitar); Goldy McJohn (keyboards); Rushton Moreve (bass); Jerry Edmonton (drums).
    Includes liner notes by John Kay.
    Originally released on MCA (31020).
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Personnel: John Kay (vocals, electric guitar); Michael Monarch (electric guitar, background vocals); Goldy McJohn (keyboards); Jerry Edmounton (drums).
    Recording information: American Recording.
    Photographer: Tom Gundelfinger.
    The beginnings of heavy metal can be pinpointed to a single song, Steppenwolf's biker classic "Born to Be Wild," featured on this classic self-titled 1968 debut. Originally from Canada, Steppenwolf exploded out of the West Coast, led by singer/guitarist John Kay. The band took the blues rock of Cream and cranking the volume a few notches higher to create its own style.
    There's more to Steppenwolf's great debut than just the aforementioned "Wild" rock standard. There's a fun tribute to Chuck Berry in "Berry Rides Again," the sexually-charged "Sookie Sookie," and the anti-drug statement "The Pusher" (later covered by Blind Melon in the '90s).

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for