CD Steppenwolf/Steppenwolf the Second [Remaster] (CD 1237936),
back to browsing

Steppenwolf/Steppenwolf the Second [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sookie Sookie
    2. Everybody's Next One
    3. Berry Rides Again
    4. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
    5. Born to Be Wild
    6. Your Wall's Too High
    7. Desperation
    8. Pusher, The
    9. Girl I Knew, A
    10. Take What You Need
    11. Ostrich, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Faster Than the Speed of Life
    2. Tighten Up Your Wig
    3. None of Your Doing
    4. Spiritual Fantasy
    5. Don't Step on the Grass, Sam
    6. 28
    7. Magic Carpet Ride
    8. Disappointment Number (Unknown)
    9. Lost and Found by Trial and Error
    10. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
    11. Resurrection
    12. Reflections
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 450

  • Credits
    ProducerGabriel Mekler
    EngineerRichard Polodor; Bill Cooper

    2 LPs on 1 cassette. Both are available separately on CD and cassette.
    This reissue of two 1968 recleases by rockers Steppenwolf features "Sookie Sookie," "The Pusher," "Magic Carpet Ride" and the international hit "Born To Be Wild."
    Personnel: John Kay (vocals, guitar); Jerry Edmonton (vocals, drums); Michael Monarch (guitar); Goldy McJohn (keyboards).
    Recording information: American Recording Co.
    Photographers: Henry Diltz; Tom Gundelfinger.
    The domestic MCA CDs of Steppenwolf's first two albums offered surprisingly good sound quality for 1960s reissues of the late '80s. That must be testament to the sheer power of the master tapes, which overcame most of the limitations of late-'80s digital audio and the usual timidity of the engineers of that era. The music fairly burned, its sheer loudness and impact overpowering even on those early CDs. Beat Goes On's reissue of the two albums in a narrow double-CD package does offer improved fidelity (especially on Steppenwolf the Second), but it won't prove quite as big a revelation as one would expect, except for the discriminating listener. The music is mastered at a higher volume, but the MCA discs were done at a pretty high volume as well -- the big difference, especially on the second album, is the volume and presence of the rhythm instruments; you can practically hear the action on Jerry Edmonton's drum kit on much of the second album, and Rushton Moreve's bass is far better represented on both discs, all of which makes for a more powerful sound. The break on "Magic Carpet Ride" has sort of had its impact restored here, despite 38 years of overexposure, and "Faster Than the Speed of Life" makes for an imposing opener. The first album isn't improved as dramatically, though it is good to hear its blues pieces in their optimum state, and "Born to Be Wild" does have some of that heavy metal thunder. The clarity also presents the group's trademarked distortion in about as sharp relief as anyone is likely to have heard it since the actual recording sessions. The annotation by Sean Egan gives a good account of the group's early history and the more unusual attributes of their music (which, somehow, never earned the respect of the first generation of rock music critics). Perhaps the group was too successful on the charts, and signed to a too shamelessly commercial label (ABC-Dunhill) ever to be taken seriously by those late-'60s rock writers, but as this release showcases, they were a pretty formidable group, given half a chance, and these first two albums sound a lot more engaging and impressive than a lot of other '60s groups' efforts from 1967 and 1968. What's more, between the two albums you get "Born to be Wild," "The Pusher," "Sookie Sookie," and "Magic Carpet Ride," meaning that this package could almost be considered an expanded greatest-hits collection. ~ Bruce Eder & Sean Westergaard

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (11/99, p.126) - "...some great moments....'The Pusher' is a genuine rock icon...occasionally, the 'Wolf can really surprise..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.45
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for