CD Sugar Tax [Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (O.M.D.)] (CD 403314),
back to browsing

Sugar Tax [Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (O.M.D.)]

  • 1. Sailing on the Seven Seas
    2. Pandora's Box (It's a Long Long Way)
    3. Then You Turn Away
    4. Speed of Light
    5. Was It Something I Said
    6. Big Town
    7. Call My Name
    8. Apollo XI
    9. Walking on Air
    10. Walk Tall
    11. Neon Lights
    12. All That Glitters
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86234

  • Credits

    Full performer name: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark.
    Producers: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark, Howard Gray, Andy Richards.
    Engineers include: Jeremy Allom, Phil Coxon, Fred De Faye.
    1991's SUGAR TAX was the first new album by Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark since 1986's THE PACIFIC AGE. Much had changed in the intervening five years. Most obviously, co-founder Paul Humphreys had left the band, leaving singer/keyboardist Andy McCluskey the sole constant member. Surprisingly, SUGAR TAX sounds remarkably like earlier OMD albums, leading one to wonder how important Humphrey's role in the band had actually been.
    Less overtly poppy and more atmospheric than THE PACIFIC AGE or that album's predecessor CRUSH, SUGAR TAX is in many ways a return to the darker hues and sonic experiments of earlier records like DAZZLE SHIPS or ARCHITECTURE AND MORALITY. As catchy as songs such as "Then You Turn Away," or "Call My Name" are, there's not an "If You Leave" to be found here.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/91) - 3 Stars - Good " unflappable album of quality songs which re-establishes OMD's credentials as masters of synthesized melancholia and dreamy pop songs.."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.12
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for