CD Supernatural [Legacy Edition] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 6272914),
back to browsing

Supernatural [Legacy Edition] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

    1. (Da Le) Yaleo
    2. Love of My Life - (featuring Carter Beauford)
    3. Put Your Lights On
    4. Africa Bamba
    5. Smooth
    6. Do You Like the Way - (featuring Cee Lo)
    7. Maria Maria
    8. Migra
    9. Corazon Espinado
    10. Wishing It Was
    11. Farol, El
    12. Primavera
    13. Calling, The
    1. Bacalao con Pan - (previously unreleased)
    2. Angel Love (Come for Me) - (previously unreleased)
    3. Rain Down on Me - (previously unreleased, featuring Dave Matthews/Carter Beauford)
    4. Corazon Espinado [Spanish Dance Remix] - (remix)
    5. One Fine Morning - (previously unreleased)
    6. Exodus/Get Up Stand Up - (previously unreleased)
    7. Ya Yo Me Cure - (previously unreleased)
    8. Maria Maria [Pumpin' Dolls Club Mix] - (remix)
    9. Smooth
    10. Calling Jam, The - (previously unreleased)
    11. Olympic Festival
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 48080

  • Credits

    Personnel: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar, congas, percussion); Everlast (vocals, guitar); Dave Matthews, Rob Thomas, Lauryn Hill, Cee-Lo, The Product G&B, Fher, Eagle Eye Cherry (vocals); Eric Clapton, Francis Dunnery, Al Anderson, Sergio Vallin, JB Eckl (guitar); Danny Wolinski (flute, saxophone); KC Porter (accordion, programming, background vocals); Mic Gillette, Jose Abel Figueroa (trumpet, trombone); Marvin McFadden, Javier Melendez, William Ortiz (trumpet); Jeff Cressman, Steve Turre, Ramon Flores (trombone); Alex Gonzales (drums, background vocals); Billy Johnson, Carter Beauford, Horatio Hernandez, Rodney Holmes, Greg Bissonette, Jimmy Keegan (drums); Karl Perazzo (congas, timbales, percussion, background vocals); Raul Rekow (congas).
    Producers include: Carlos Santana, Steve Harris, Wyclef Jean, Jerry "Wonder" Duplessis, KC Porter.
    Engineers include: Steve Fontano, Glenn Kolotkin, Mike Couzi.
    SUPERNATURAL won the 2000 Grammy Award for Album Of The Year and for Best Rock Album. "Smooth" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Song Of The Year, Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals and for Record Of The Year. "The Calling" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance. "Maria Maria" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. "El Farol" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Pop Instrumental Performance. "Put Your Lights On" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. "Love Of My Life" was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals. "El Farol" was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Composition.
    "Corazon Espinado" won the 2000 Latin Grammy Award for Record Of The Year and SUPERNATRUAL won Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal. "El Farol" won the 2000 Latin Grammy Award for Best Pop Instrumental Performance.
    Santana: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar); Tony Lindsay, Andy Vargas (vocals); Chester Thompson (keyboards); Benny Rietveld (bass); Rodney Holmes (drums); Raul Rekow (congas, percussion); Karl Perazzo (timbales, percussion).
    Additional personnel: Dave Matthews, Everlast (vocals, guitar); Sarah McLachlan (vocals, piano); Lauryn Hill, Cee-Lo, The Product G&B, Rob Thomas (vocals); Wayne Shorter (saxophone); Bill Ortiz, Julius Melendez (trumpet); Jose Able Figueroa, Jeff Cressman (trombone); Carter Beauford (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Hal Miller.
    Recording information: Cello Studios (2000); Chung King Studios (2000); Circo Beat (2000); Conway Recording (2000); Electric Lady Studios (2000); Fantasy Studios (2000); Pcp Labs (2000); South Beach Studios (2000); Tarpan Studios (2000); The HIT Factory (2000); The Plant Recording Studios (2000); The Record Plant (2000); US (2000); Worldbeat Recording (2000).
    Photographers: Omar Cruz ; Jay Blakesberg; Adriano Scognamillo; Rick Diamond; Neal Preston; Marc Bryan-Brown; Steve Granitz; Norman Watson; Ralph Nelson; Kava Gorna; Calixto Robles; Adam Fells.
    Fans old and new have much to celebrate about SUPERNATURAL, Carlos Santana's Arista Records debut. After several years of quiet in the studio, Santana is joined by his seasoned contemporary Eric Clapton and by such young luminaries as Lauryn Hill, Dave Matthews, Rob Thomas, and Fher (of famed Mexi-rockers Mana). As an album that caps a rock career spanning more than three decades, SUPERNATURAL is a testament to the stylistic breadth of Carlos' musical world, to his dynamic communicative abilities, and to the fact that rolling stones truly gather no moss. The man continues to make a guitar wail like no other.
    To the sound of punchy horns, Rodney Holmes' double-bass drum kick, and of course, Santana's searing string-bending, "Yaleo" tears it up with abandon. "Migra" is another signature Santana 'Latin rock' piece with a pulsing Bo Diddley beat and a strong message about the U.S. immigration officers' harassment of Latinos. "Love Of My Life" is a sultry number with Matthews pouring sweetness all over the microphone, while "Do You Like The Way" features Hill dropping the light of her wisdom to slow, rough beats.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (7/8-22, p.144) - 3 1/2 Stars (out of 5) - "...Eclectic, lively and only occasionally goofy, SUPERNATURAL offers a glossy but winning context of musical fusion that highlights Santana's unique ability to make that guitar of his cry expressively..."
    Entertainment Weekly (6/18/99, p.79) - "...Whether he's spraying lyrical notes over a soulful Lauryn Hill composition, trading molten licks with Clapton, or playing spacey blues with Everlast, Santana still has that old 'Black Magic Woman' thing goin' on..." - Rating: B+
    CMJ (1/10/00, p.23) - Included in CMJ's "Triple A '99 Top 5" - "...proves in 1999 that veteran rockers don't have to burn out or fade away....utilizing his unique salsa-blues-rock approach..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (9/99, p.103) - "...easily the best place to hear this pleasantly inconsequential noise would be at a barbecue on a hot summer night, especially if you didn't want to disturb the neighbors."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.102) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The signature guitar lines are supplemented by a posse of turn-of-millennium names..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for