CD Tanx [Digipak] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 531200),
back to browsing

Tanx [Digipak] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Tenement Lady
    2. Rapids
    3. Mister Mister
    4. Broken-Hearted Blues
    5. Shock Rock
    6. Country Honey
    7. Electric Slim and the Factory Hen
    8. Mad Donna
    9. Born to Boogie
    10. Life Is Strange
    11. Street and Babe Shadow, The
    12. Highway Knees
    13. Left Hand Luke and the Beggar Boys
    14. Children of the Revolution - (bonus track)
    15. Jitterbug Love - (bonus track)
    16. Sunken Rags - (bonus track)
    17. Solid Gold Easy Action - (bonus track)
    18. Xmas Riff - (bonus track)
    19. 20th Century Boy - (bonus track)
    20. Free Angel - (bonus track)
    1. Tenement Lady / Darling
    2. Rapids - (incomplete)
    3. Mister Mister
    4. Broken-Hearted Blues
    5. Country Honey
    6. Mad Donna
    7. Born to Boogie
    8. Life Is Strange
    9. Street and Babe Shadow, The
    10. Highway Knees
    11. Left Hand Luke
    12. Children of the Revolution - (incomplete)
    13. Solid Gold Easy Action
    14. Free Angel
    15. Mister Mister - (acoustic & bass demo)
    16. Broken-Hearted Blues - (acoustic & bass demo)
    17. Street and the Babe Shadow, The - (acoustic & bass demo)
    18. Tenement Lady - (acoustic & bass demo)
    19. Tenement Lady - (acoustic demo)
    20. Broken Hearted Blues - (acoustic demo)
    21. Mad Donna - (acoustic demo; different lyrics)
    22. Street and the Babe Shadow, The - (acoustic demo)
    23. Left Hand Luke - (acoustic demo)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 73286

  • Credits
    ProducerTony Visconti

    The 1997 reissue of TANX features 7 additional tracks that did not appear on the original release; "Children Of The Revolution," "Jitterbug Love," "Sunken Rays," "Solid Gold Easy Action," "Xmas Message," "20th Century Boy" and "Free Angel."
    T. Rex includes: Mark Bolan (vocals); Steve Currie (bass); Bill Legend (drums).
    Includes liner notes by Mark Paytress.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    This two-disc 2002 edition is packaged in a digipak and plastic slipcase.
    Disc one includes seven non-album single sides in addition to the original album.
    Disc two includes 23 "work in progress" versions and demos, which mirror the original album's running order.
    Includes a 16 page color booklet featuring lyrics, photos, and memorabilia.
    Includes liner notes by Mark Paytress (Marc Bolan's biographer).
    T. Rex: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Mickey Finn (vocals, congas, percussion); Steve Currie (bass guitar); Bill Legend (drums).
    Additional personnel: Howard Casey (saxophone); Tony Visconti (Mellotron, background vocals).
    There were more successful T. Rex albums, notably THE SLIDER, but without any hit singles, this collection seems to win favour as the most cohesive and interesting. The reissued CD has the generous bonus of seven tracks, including the largely ignored single "Children Of The Revolution." The expanded booklet has excellent sleeve notes from Bolanologist Mark Paytress; unfortunately, the designer decided to make them totally unreadable with ludicrous overprinting. This album clearly demonstrates there is more to the Bolan catalogue than the radio-flogged "Get It On" and "Telegram Sam." He was a fascinating lyricist, who could hope to put the line "myxomatosis is an animal's disease" in a song and get away with it.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $24.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for