CD The Best of James Gang [Repertoire] (CD 1235344),
back to browsing

The Best of James Gang [Repertoire]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Take a Look Around
    2. Funk #48
    3. Bluebird
    4. Lost Woman
    5. I Don't Have the Time
    6. Fred
    7. Funk #49
    8. Asshtonpark
    9. Woman
    10. The Bomber: Closet Queen/Cast Your Fate to the Wind: Closet Queen / Cast Your Fate To The Wind
    11. Walk Away
    12. Yadig?
    13. Things I Could Be
    14. Midnight Man
    15. Madness
    16. Looking for My Lady
    17. I'll Tell You Why
    18. Ain't Seen Nothing Yet
    0. DISC 2:
    1. One Way Street
    2. Had Enough
    3. Up to Yourself
    4. Standing in the Rain
    5. Devil Is Singing Our Song, The
    6. Must Be Love
    7. Got No Time for Trouble
    8. Ride the Wind
    9. Cruisin' Down the Highway
    10. Do It (The Way You Do It)
    11. Wildfire
    12. Summer Breezes
    13. Merry-Go-Round
    14. Watch It
    15. Driftin' Dreamer
    16. Shoulda' Seen Your Face
    17. Heartbreak Hotel
    18. Red Satin Lover
    19. I Need Love
    20. Feelin' Alright
    21. Hollywood Dreams
    22. Pick up the Pizzas
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4671

  • Credits

    The James Gang includes: Joe Walsh, Jim Fox.
    Includes an interview with Jim Fox.
    Personnel: Joe Walsh (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Richard Shack, Bubba Keith, Tommy Bolin, Bob Webb (vocals, guitar); Roy Kenner (vocals, harmonica, percussion); Jim Fox (vocals, organ, vibraphone, drums, background vocals); Phil Giallomardo (vocals, keyboards); Dale Peters (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Domenic Troiano (guitar, background vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Chris Welch .
    The Best of the James Gang [Repertoire] is the way a career overview should be -- two discs jammed to the limit with the group's hits and strong album cuts. Joe Walsh and company put the "power" in "power trio" as they supplied a smattering of releases from 1969-1971 that were custom-made to be cranked on eight-track while cruising in a Camaro. Walsh's woefully underrated talent for penning some of rock's all-time greatest riffs is evident throughout, especially on the group's two best known tracks, "Walk Away" and "Funk #49," while quite a few lesser-known tracks ("I Don't Have the Time," "Woman") rock just as hard. Additionally, Walsh's chicken-pickin' guitar playing in "Asshtonpark" sounds like a dry run for his later work as part of the Eagles, while the group's melodic and softer side is showcased on tracks like "Take a Look Around." And unlike most other James Gang compilations, this set goes beyond the Joe Walsh years, as tracks from both the Domenic Troiano and Tommy Bolin eras are touched upon. The Bolin-era tracks will undoubtedly prove to be the set's big surprise to fans familiar with just the Walsh Gang, especially on such exceptional tracks as "The Devil Is Singing Our Song," "Standing in the Rain," and "Summer Breezes," all of which would be classic rock radio staples in a perfect world. For a thorough look at the James Gang, The Best of the James Gang [Repertoire] is highly recommended. ~ Greg Prato

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for