CD The Bonnie Raitt Collection (CD 425517),
back to browsing

The Bonnie Raitt Collection

  • 1. Finest Lovin' Man - (edit)
    2. Give It up or Let Me Go
    3. Women Be Wise
    4. Under the Falling Sky
    5. Love Me Like a Man
    6. Love Has No Pride
    7. I Feel the Same
    8. Guilty
    9. Angel From Montgomery -(Live With John Prine)
    10. What Is Success
    11. My First Night Alone Without You
    12. Sugar Mama
    13. Louise
    14. About to Make Me Leave Home
    15. Runaway
    16. Glow, The
    17. Goin' Wild For You Baby
    18. Willya Wontcha
    19. True Love Is Hard to Find - (edit)
    20. No Way to Treat a Lady
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 26242

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Bonnie Raitt, John Prine (vocals, guitar); Sippie Wallace (vocals); Will McFarlane, David Bromberg, John Hall, Waddy Wachtel, Dean Parks (guitar); Lowell George (slide guitar); David Grisman (mandocello); Junior Wells, Paul Butterfield (harmonica); A.C. Reed (tenor saxophone); Amos Garrett (trombone); Jai Winding (piano); Dave Holland, Nathan East (bass); Dennis Whitted, Earl Palmer (drums); Milt Holland (tabla); Ralph McDonald, Jeff Porcaro (percussion); Michael McDonald, Max Carl (background vocals).
    Producers include: John Prine, Jerry Ragovoy, Paul A. Rothchild, Peter Asher, Rob Fraboni.
    Engineers include: Kendall "Do The Dog" Pacios, John Haeny, Harry Maslin.
    This collection contains 20 selections. 19 from Raitt's nine Warner LPs spanning 71-86, and one previously unreleased live track from a 1976 KSAN (San Francisco) broadcast.
    The booklet includes personnel information and track-by-track notes by Bonnie Raitt.
    Bonnie Raitt is one of the most respected crossover blues performers of her generation. Even when she plays repertoire that falls into the pop category, Raitt never sways too far from her bluesy roots. Because of this, she has been widely embraced by both adult-contemporary audiences and hardcore blues fans.
    This compilation shows Raitt prodigious musical growth throughout two decades, ending before NICK OF TIME (1989) and LUCK OF THE DRAW (1991). So if you're seeking the big hits, you'll have to look elsewhere; the two aforementioned albums contain her biggest radio singles, and none of that material is included here. However, this collection is a fabulous survey of Raitt's earlier career, beginning in 1971 and ending in 1986 with the vocalist/guitarist's NINE LIVES release. Many superb songs are heard here, including the reggae tune "True Love Is Hard to Find," the down-home blues number "Give It Up or Let Me Go," and the jazzy ballad "The Glow." Also included on this compilation is an excellent concert recording of Raitt's classic "Angel from Montgomery," featuring John Prine.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly - A
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.47
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for