CD The Color Spectrum [The Complete Collection] [Box] (CD 15827825),
back to browsing

The Color Spectrum [The Complete Collection] [Box]

    1. Never Forgive, Never Forget
    2. Filth and Squalor
    3. Take More Than You Need
    4. This Body
    5. I Couldn't Do It Alone
    6. Curse Of Cynicism, A
    7. Deny It All
    8. We've Got A Score To Settle
    9. Echo
    10. Stuck On A Wire, Out On A Fence
    11. Sea Of Solid Earth, A
    12. But There's Wolves?
    1. She's Always Singing
    2. Dead Don't Starve, The
    3. A Sua Voz
    4. Misplaced Devotion
    5. Things That Hide Away, The
    6. Canopy, The
    7. Crow And Cackle
    8. Inheritence, The
    9. Tripping In Triplets
    10. Trapdoor
    11. What You Said
    12. Collapse Of The Great Tide Cliffs, The
    1. What Time Taught Us
    2. Mandala
    3. Progress
    4. Therma
    5. Mr. Malum
    6. Lillian
    7. Too Late
    8. Look Away
    9. Home
    10. Fall And Flee
    11. No God
    12. Lost But Not All Gone
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Color Spectrum DVD, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3151

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Cameron Thorne.
    Recording information: Canyon Lake, CA; Favorite Gentlemen, Chamblee, GA; Strangeways Recording, Providence, RI; Vudu Studios, Port Jefferson, NY.
    Photographers: Theo Dehart; Gary Livingston.
    A departure from the Act I-VI album cycle that the band has been working on, The Color Spectrum finds the Dear Hunter moving in a different and even more conceptual direction, writing songs influenced by the visible range of the electromagnetic spectrum. While the project spans nine EPs consisting of 36 total tracks, this album collects just 11 of the songs, giving listeners a small taste of the massive project. Casey Crescenzo and company do an admirable job of sticking to the concept, especially given the abstract nature of the project, delivering a collection of songs that actually feel as if they represent the colors associated with them. The album opens with "Filth and Squalor (Black)," which, as one would expect, is a dark and moody track that acts as a nice contrast to the sunny and upbeat bounce of "She's Always Singing (Yellow)." The album holds up conceptually all the way to the end as it closes with two tracks from the white EP, "Home (White)" and "Fall and Flee (White)," which both have a gentle, almost reassuring benevolence to them as they build into uplifting crescendos. Despite being from different albums, the songs all work together remarkably well, giving the album the kind of natural flow that one expects from an album, never giving away the fact that the songs are all from different EPs. This kind of unity showcases the Dear Hunter's ability to really mine a concept for all it's worth, exploring an idea and discovering everything that it might have to offer before moving on to the next thing, and while it's only about a third of the total work, The Color Spectrum allows listeners the chance to stand at the edge of the water and dip their toes in before wading neck-deep into the strange world Crescenzo has created for himself. ~ Gregory Heaney

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (p.111) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Filth And Squalor' and 'Deny It All' are stomping, bombastic rock songs with dark tinges that fall neatly in the band's wheelhouse."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.95
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for