CD The Essential Billy Joel [Limited] (CD 971233),
back to browsing

The Essential Billy Joel [Limited]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Piano Man
    2. You're My Home
    3. Captain Jack
    4. Entertainer, The
    5. Say Goodbye to Hollywood
    6. Miami 2017 (Seen the Lights Go Out on Broadway)
    7. New York State of Mind
    8. She's Always a Woman
    9. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
    10. Only the Good Die Young
    11. Just the Way You Are
    12. Honesty
    13. My Life
    14. It's Still Rock & Roll to Me
    15. You May Be Right
    16. Don't Ask Me Why
    17. She's Got a Way
    18. Allentown
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Goodnight Saigon
    2. Innocent Man, An
    3. Uptown Girl
    4. Longest Time, The
    5. Tell Her About It
    6. Leave a Tender Moment Alone
    7. Matter of Trust, A
    8. Baby Grand
    9. I Go to Extremes
    10. We Didn't Start the Fire
    11. Leningrad
    12. Downeaster "Alexa", The
    13. And So It Goes
    14. River of Dreams, The
    15. All About Soul - (Remix, remix)
    16. Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)
    17. Waltz #1 (Nunley's Carousel)
    18. Invention in C Minor
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86005

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Billy Joel (vocals, piano); Ray Charles (vocals); Richard Joo (piano); Liberty DeVito (drums).
    Producers include: Michael Stewart, Billy Joel, Phil Ramone, Mick Jones, Steven Epstein.
    Compilation producers: Greg Linn, Mark Feldman.
    Recorded between 1973 and 2001.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, harmonica, piano, keyboards); Richard Huyghe (piano).
    Photographers: Patrick Demarchelier; Art Maillet.
    At the close of the 20th Century, it became apparent that Billy Joel was one of the premier pop craftsmen of the post-Beatles era. This generous two-disc compilation neatly makes a case for Joel's reign at the top of the musical heap by chronicling nearly 20 years of hits. Joel's melodic gift and lyrical acumen are amply displayed as THE ESSENTIAL BILLY JOEL moves from the introspective "Piano Man" to the sardonic, self-parodic "The Entertainer," from the Springsteen-like rocker "Only the Good Die Young" to the McCartneyesque "Dont Ask Me Why." As Joel's career progressed, his work became increasingly occupied with socio-political issues, as evidenced by disc two's "We Didn't Start the Fire" and "The Downeaster 'Alexa.'" By the end of the '90s, Joel decided to abandon pop in favor of classically inspired instrumental music, and this chronological collection fittingly ends with some of the first fruits of that notion, indicating that even after so many years in the public eye, Joel still had plenty to say, whether he used words or not.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for