CD The Essential Kris Kristofferson (CD 395383),
back to browsing

The Essential Kris Kristofferson

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
    2. To Beat the Devil
    3. Just the Other Side of Nowhere
    4. Me and Bobby McGee
    5. Best of All Possible Worlds, The
    6. Casey's Last Ride
    7. Help Me Make It Throught the Night
    8. Darby's Castle
    9. Jody and the Kid
    10. Loving Her Was Easier (That Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
    11. For the Good Times
    12. Come Sundown
    13. From the Bottle to the Bottom
    14. Billy Dee
    15. Breakdown (A Long Way from Home)
    16. Silver Tongued Devil and I, The
    17. Taker, The
    18. Pilgrim: Chapter 33, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Border Lord
    2. Sabre and the Rose, The
    3. Broken Freedom Song
    4. Jesus Was a Capricorn (Owed to John Prine)
    5. Shandy (The Perfect Disguise)
    6. Sugar Man
    7. Last Time, The
    8. Nobody Wins
    9. I'd Rather Be Sorry
    10. Highwayman
    11. Don't Cuss the Fiddle
    12. Bigger the Fool, The Harder the Fall, The
    13. Stranger
    14. If You Don't Like Hank Williams
    15. Here Comes That Rainbow Again
    16. Once More With Feeling
    17. How Do You Feel About Foolin' Around
    18. Why Me
    19. Please Don't Tell Me How the Story Ends
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 64992

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Kris Kristofferson (vocals, guitar); Steve Burton, Fred Carter Jr., Johnny Christopher, James Colvard, Ray Edenton, Chris Gantry, Mac Gayden, Steve Gibson, Jerry Kennedy, Mark Knopfler, Dennis Linde, Grady Martin, Jerry McGee, Wayne Moss, Jerry Shook, Billy Swan, Fred Tackett, John "Bucky" Wilkin, Chip Youn (guitar); Peter Drake, Paul Franklin, Weldon Myrick (steel guitar); David Briggs, Glen Clark (keboards); Dennis Belfield (bass); Kenny Buttrey (drums); Bobbye Hall (percussion).
    Producers includes: Fred Foster, David Anderle, Nancy Carlen, Dennis Linde, Norbert Putam.
    Compilation producer: Gregg Geller.
    Recorded between 1969 & 1985. Includes liner notes by Jim Bessman.
    Personnel: Kris Kristofferson (guitar, background vocals); Jerry McGee (guitar, dobro, mandolin, sitar, background vocals); Fred Tackett (guitar, mandolin); Mark Knopfler, Stephen Bruton, Billy Swan (guitar, background vocals); Chip Young, Chris Gantry, Dennis Linde, Fred Carter, Jr., Grady Martin, John "Bucky" Wilkin, Jim Colvard, Jerry Kennedy, John Willis, Johnny Christopher, Mac Gayden, Ray Edenton, Wayne Moss, Steve Gibson , Jerry Shook (guitar); Paul Franklin , Pete Drake, Weldon Myrick (steel guitar); Josh Graves, Norman Blake (dobro); Norman Bruton (mandolin); Tommy Jackson, Buddy Spicher (fiddle); Charlie McCoy (harmonica, horns); Nick DeCaro (accordion); Don Sheffield, Chuck Findley, Dick Hyde, Darrell Leonard, Dwight Smith, Earl Lon Price, Harrison Calloway, Jackie Kelso, Jim Horn, Harvey Thompson, Ronnie Eades (horns); Donnie Fritts, Mike Utley (keyboards, background vocals); Glen Clark, David Briggs , Jim Cox, John Harris , Shane Keister, Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood (keyboards); Gene Chrisman, Kenny Buttrey, Andy Newmark, Sammy Creason, Jerry Carrigan (drums); Farrell Morris, Bobbye Hall (percussion); Clydie King, June Page, Sherlie Matthews, D. Bergen White, Donna Rhodes, Terry Dearmore, Don Gant, Jack Skinner, James Cason, Herb Pedersen, Randy Cutlers, Allan Wald, Benny Whitehead, Gary Busey, Sandra Chalmers, John Beland, Larry Gatlin, Larry Murray, Alan Rush, Mentor Williams, Mickey Newbury, Ray C. Walker, Rita Coolidge, Sammi Smith, Terry Paul, Venetta Fields, Gordon Stoker, Hoyt Hawkins, Millie Kirkham, Buzz Cason, Byron Berline, Charles Chalmers (background vocals).
    Recording information: 1969-1983.
    Photographers: Jim Marshall ; David Gahr.
    Drunkards, free spirits, wayward travelers, and lady-killers populate the songs of Kris Kristofferson, who was a wandering soul himself before becoming a professional musician. Always one to appeal to country and rock fans alike, Kristofferson is a songwriter's songwriter, as illustrated by this double-disc collection. The first disc is primarily comprised of nine tracks from his landmark 1970 debut, KRISTOFFERSON, and seven cuts from 1971's equally strong THE SILVER TONGUED DEVIL AND I. These include "Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down," "Help Me Make It Through the Night," and "For the Good Times"--all hits for other artists, though Kristofferson's weathered, raspy versions feel definitive.
    Disc two culls tracks from more varied sources, though a mere five of 19 go beyond 1979. It opens with 1972?s narcotic "Border Lord," and continues through four tracks from 1972's JESUS WAS A CAPRICORN (including "I'd Rather Be Sorry," a duet with his then-wife, Rita Coolidge), "How Do You Feel About Foolin' Around" (with Willie Nelson, from the 1986 film SONGWRITER), and a 1985 cut from the country supergroup Highwaymen (with Nelson, Johnny Cash, and Waylon Jennings). A strong collection for the true fan, or a fantastic intro for the uninitiated, ESSENTIAL is a concise overview of this groundbreaking songwriter's work.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (p.134) - 4 stars out of 5 - "One of the most insightful country writers of the '70s..."
    Uncut (p.116) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[H]e brought an outsider's perspective to Music City's staid conservatism that drew from the confessional folk of Fred Neil and the freewheelin' narrative of Dylan."
    Mojo (Publisher) (2/04, p.114) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[G]athering the best of his '70s solo sides and making a persuasive case for him as one of country's great storytellers."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for