CD The Essential Ted Nugent (CD 6975603),
back to browsing

The Essential Ted Nugent

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Stranglehold
    2. Stormtroopin'
    3. Hey Baby
    4. Just What the Doctor Ordered
    5. Snakeskin Cowboys
    6. Motor City Madhouse
    7. Where Have You Been All My Life
    8. Free-for-All
    9. Dog Eat Dog
    10. Writing on the Wall
    11. Turn It Up
    12. Street Rats
    13. Hammerdown
    14. Cat Scratch Fever
    15. Wang Dang Sweet Poontang
    16. Death by Misadventure
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Out of Control
    2. Live It Up
    3. Homebound
    4. Need You Bad
    5. Weekend Warriors
    6. Smokescreen
    7. Paralyzed
    8. Take It or Leave It
    9. State of Shock
    10. Snake Charmer
    11. Wango Tango
    12. Scream Dream
    13. Jailbait
    14. Yank Me Crank Me
    15. Flying Lip Lock, The
    16. Baby, Please Don't Go
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 78666

  • Credits
    ProducerBruce Dickinson (Compilation)

    Recording information: 1975; 1976; 1977; 1978; 1979; 1980; 1982.
    Photographers: Jeffrey Mayer; Al Clayton; Roz Levin.
    The Essential Ted Nugent falls short of its billing for a couple of reasons. First of all, even if the sound is very good, there are no liner notes -- just shots of Ted doing his guitar face on-stage, plus pictures of his Epic albums. Second, this concentrates just on his Epic recordings, without dipping into the Amboy Dukes, while also ignoring latter-day recordings for other labels, including his manly tribute to the great hunter, "Fred Bear" (if you live in Michigan, where you can't go a day in hunting season without hearing this song, you know this is a crucial omission). So, what do you get? A double-disc collection of Ted the "wildman" at his peak -- which is good for those who just want the prime and the prime only, but it's a bit much for those who just want hits. As far as music goes, it's pretty good, since it does have those basic hits, but it's still a bit much and it could have been produced with a bit more care. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for