CD The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy [3-CD Set] [Limited] (CD 1144880),
back to browsing

The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy [3-CD Set] [Limited]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Prophecy, The
    2. Concerning Hobbits
    3. Shadow of the Past, The
    4. Treason of Isengard, The
    5. Black Rider, The
    6. At the Sign of the Prancing Pony
    7. Knife in the Dark, A
    8. Flight to the Ford
    9. Many Meetings
    10. Council of Elrond/Anron [Theme for Aragorn and Arwen], The
    11. Ring Goes South, The
    12. Journey in the Dark, A
    13. Bridge of Khazad Dum, The
    14. Lothlorien
    15. Great River, The
    16. Amon Hen
    17. Breaking of the Fellowship, The
    18. May It Be
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Foundations of Stone
    2. Taming of Smagol, The
    3. Riders of Rohan, The
    4. Passage of the Marshes, The
    5. Uruk-Hai, The
    6. King of the Golden Hall, The
    7. Black Gate Is Closed, The
    8. Evenstar - (featuring Isabel Bayrakdarian)
    9. White Rider, The
    10. Treebeard
    11. Leave Taking, The
    12. Helm's Deep
    13. Forbidden Pool, The
    14. Breath of Life - (featuring Sheila Chandra)
    15. Hornburg, The
    16. Forth Eorlingas - (featuring Ben Del Maestro)
    17. Isengard Unleashed - (featuring Elizabeth Fraser/Ben Del Maestro)
    18. Samwise the Brave
    19. Gollum's Song
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Storm Is Coming, A
    2. Hope and Memory
    3. Minas Tirith - (featuring Ben Del Maestro)
    4. White Tree, The
    5. Steward of Gondor, The - (featuring Billy Boyd)
    6. Minas Morgul
    7. Ride of the Rohirrim, The
    8. Twilight and Shadow - (featuring Rene Fleming)
    9. Cirith Ungol
    10. Andril
    11. Shelob's Lair
    12. Ash and Smoke
    13. Fields of the Pelennor, The
    14. Hope Falls
    15. Black Gate Opens, The - (featuring James Galway)
    16. End of All Things, The - (featuring Rene Fleming)
    17. Return of the King, The - (featuring James Galway/Viggo Mortensen/Rene Fleming)
    18. Grey Havens, The - (featuring James Galway)
    19. Into the West - (featuring Annie Lennox)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 48633

  • Credits
    ProducerTim Stritmater; Bill Foley; Jim Bruening; Howard Shore; Nicky Ryan; Suzana Peric
    EngineerJeffrey Lesser; John Kurlander; Nicky Ryan; Andy Bradfield; Paul Hicks; Tom Lazarus

    This limited edition release contains all 3 soundtracks from the Lord Of The Rings trilogy.
    Original score composed by Howard Shore.
    Adapter: Philippa Boyens.
    Personnel: Edward Ross (vocals); John Parricelli (guitar, 12-string guitar); Dermot Crehan (fiddle); Ulrich Herkenhoff (pan flute).
    Audio Mixer: John Kurlander.
    Liner Note Authors: Howard Shore ; Peter Jackson .
    Recording information: Aigle Studios, Dublin, Ireland; Air Studios, London, England; CTS Colosseum, Watford, Hertfordshire, England; EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England; Henry Wood Hall, London, England; Town Hall, Wellington, New Zealand.
    Editors: Nancy Allen ; Suzana Perc.
    Photographers: Van Redin; Ken George.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Sonia Slany.
    Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King is a three-disc collection that spans composer Howard Shore's score for the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Oscar-winning Fellowship of the Ring skillfully births many of the films' main themes. From the familiar opening violin motif of "The Prophecy" to the haunting elven hymn "Lothlorien," Shore lays out the blueprints for this immense work with precision and wonder, allowing the melodies to brew over time. The inclusion of the Enya-penned "May It Be" caused some controversy among purists who believed that the score would suffer if it deviated from the elvish language, yet it remains a pleasant and complimentary addition. The tone of the second film is much darker in scope, so it only seems fitting that Shore paint with a larger brush. With the whimsical "Concerning Hobbits" theme reduced to short variations, the choral arrangements for The Two Towers battle sequences rule the trilogy's middle child. "Isengard Unleashed" deftly utilizes the solo soprano in the march of the Ents to up the dramatic ante for the battle of "Helm's Deep," and the introduction of "Gollum's Song" by Emiliana Torrini gives a sympathetic feel to the story's most conflicted character. For Return of the King, Shore offers up the best of both worlds. The gentle tones of "The Grey Havens" and the brutality of "The Black Gate Opens" balance the third act with a grace that by now is well earned. The majestic strains of "The Steward of Gondor," with Billy Boyd providing narration in the form of song, is heartbreaking and powerful, and the ring theme has gathered weight in story and score, providing the piece with one its most dramatic moments. "Into the West" by Annie Lennox is a serviceable "credits only" rendering of the "Grey Havens" theme and is a bit distracting within the context of the whole project. For the completist, Shore will release a similar box in 2004 containing all of the film music, as well as music from the extended versions of Lord of the Rings. ~ James Christopher Monger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.35
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for