CD The Sound of The Smiths (Deluxe Edition) (CD 1309596),
back to browsing

The Sound of The Smiths (Deluxe Edition)

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hand In Glove
    2. This Charming Man
    3. What Difference Does It Make? [Peel Session Version]
    4. Still Ill
    5. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
    6. William, It Was Really Nothing
    7. How Soon Is Now? [12 " Version]
    8. Nowhere Fast
    9. Shakespeare's Sister
    10. Barbarism Begins At Home [7" Version]
    11. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
    12. Headmaster Ritual, The
    13. Boy With The Thorn In His Side, The
    14. Bigmouth Strikes Again
    15. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
    16. Panic
    17. Ask
    18. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
    19. Shoplifters Of The World Unite
    20. Sheila Take A Bow
    21. Girlfriend In A Coma
    22. I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
    23. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Jeane
    2. Handsome Devil [Live] - (live)
    3. This Charming Man [New York Vocal]
    4. Wonderful Woman
    5. Back To The Old House
    6. These Things Take Time
    7. Girl Afraid
    8. Please, Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
    9. Stretch Out And Wait
    10. Oscillate Wildly
    11. Meat Is Murder [Live] - (live)
    12. Asleep
    13. Money Changes Everything
    14. Queen Is Dead/Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty [Medley], The
    15. Vicar In A Tutu
    16. Cemetry Gates
    17. Half A Person
    18. Sweet And Tender Hooligan
    19. Pretty Girls Make Graves (Troy Tate version)
    20. Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
    21. What's The World [Live in Glasgow]
    22. London [Live]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 516016

  • Credits
    ProducerRoger Pusey; Grant Showbiz; John Porter; Johnny Marr; Morrissey; Stephen Street; Troy Tate
    EngineerStephen Street

    The deluxe edition of THE SOUND OF THE SMITHS appends the standard version with a bonus disc of rarities, deeper album cuts, and live tracks, providing an even more in-depth overview of the beloved 1980s British rock act. Highlights of the second disc include an energetic concert performance of "Handsome Devil," an alternate version of "Pretty Girls Make Graves," and "The Queen Is Dead," a searing song lifted from the esteemed album of the same name.
    The Smiths: Morrissey (vocals); Johnny Marr , Stephen Street.
    Though the Smiths have been compiled numerous times, 2008's THE SOUND OF THE SMITHS is the first set to comprehensively survey the revered British college-rock band's impressive 1983-87 catalogue. Beginning with the restless "Hand in Glove," and proceeding in chronological order to spotlight other classic tracks such as the epic "How Soon Is Now?" and the achingly melancholic "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me," the lovingly remastered SOUND easily reinforces the Smiths' status as one of the all-time-great U.K. pop/rock bands, adeptly showcasing Morrissey's hyper-literate lyrics and emotive croon, as well as Johnny Marr's awe-inspiring and dynamic guitar work. The anthology, which benefits from the input of both key members, also makes room for lesser-known album selections such as "Still Ill" and "Barbarism Begins at Home," making SOUND much more than a mere singles collection.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.95) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Morrissey articulates both bleak romanticism and omni-deprecating humor, while Marr accompanies him with chiming, multilayered riffs."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.118) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "With Marr's transports of melodic delight and the detailed complicities of Morrissey, songs such as 'William, It Was Really Nothing' and 'Sweet And Tender Hooligan' make for pop music of uncanny potency."
    Blender (Magazine) (p.67) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he most comprehensive survey yet of the Mancunians' brief, tear-stained blaze through the mid-'80s indie-pop firmament..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for