CD The World Ends: Afro Rock & Psychedelia in 1970s Nigeria [Digipak] (CD 6963021),
back to browsing

The World Ends: Afro Rock & Psychedelia in 1970s Nigeria [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Nwantinti/Die Die - Ify Jerry Krusade (mono)
    2. Rough Rider - Hygrades (mono)
    3. Deiyo Deiyo (Akpuwunlobi) - Hykkers (mono)
    4. Soundway - Hykkers/Wrinkar Experience (mono)
    5. Breakthrough - Wrinkars Experience/Funkees (mono)
    6. Mr. Bull Dog [Original 45 Version] - Funkees/The Mebusas
    7. Don't Take Me for a Ride - Foundars 15/The Mebusas
    8. Eti Ufok - Ceejebs/The Founders 15 (mono)
    9. Yem Efe - Ceejebs/Tony Grey Super 7
    10. Akwa Kayi Ji Bia Nuwa - Tony Grey Super 7/The Identicals
    11. Blacky Joe - P.R.O./The Identicals
    12. Oli Nkwu - Cicada/P.R.O.
    13. Life's Gone Down Low - Cicada/The Lijadu Sisters
    14. Ikoko - Eppi Fanio/The Lijadu Sisters
    15. All Night Long - Bongos Ikwue
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Babalawo - The Thermometers
    2. Ottoto Shamoleda - Colomach
    3. World Ends, The - The Black Mirrors
    4. Isi Agboncha - Semi Colon
    5. Money That's What I Want - Lawrence Amavi Group
    6. Somebody's Gotta Lose or Win - Hygrades (mono)
    7. In Concert - Ofege
    8. Chokoi & Oreje - The Elcados
    9. Ohomi - Sonny Okosuns & Paperback Limited/Paperback Limited/Sonny Okosun (mono)
    10. Be Kind, Be Foolish, Be Happy - Voices of Darkness/Chuck Barrister/Tony Grey & The Magnificent Zeinians/Chuck Barrister & the Voices of Darkness/Tony Grey
    11. Ugbo Ndoma - Reme Izabebo's Music Research/Tony Grey & The Magnificent Zeinians
    12. Same Man [Ayamayama], The - The Action 13/Reme Izabebo's Music Research
    13. Active Action - Action 13/The Action 13/The Actions (mono)
    14. Kpokposikposi - The Actions/The Strangers (mono)
    15. Onye Ije - The Comrades/The Strangers (mono)
    16. Bullwalk - The Comrades/Ofo The Black Company
    17. Egwu Aja - Ofo The Black Company
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 23

  • Credits

    The astonishing Soundway label has dominated the field of Nigerian reissue compilations for years now, putting out a total of seven sets documenting the astonishing fertility of that country's music scene in the '70s. This one, a double disc focusing on Nigerian rock -- and thus a sequel of sorts to 2008's scorching Nigeria Rock Special -- features some names familiar to listeners who've purchased other Soundway compilations. The Hygrades, the Funkees, the Hykkers, the Semi Colon, the Action 13, Bongos Ikwue, and Ofo the Black Company (whose roaring "Allah Wakbarr" is one of the great Afro-rock anthems of all time, featuring an acid rock guitar riff Funkadelic would have killed for in 1970) all appear, alongside plenty of otherwise unfamiliar names. Many groups sing in English, while others feature Yoruba vocals. Almost all, though, combine chopping guitar, screaming organ, and relentless rhythm in a way that recalls James Brown's killer 1969-1970 lineup of the JB's. The Mebusas' "Mr. Bulldog" is a churning anthem criticizing a man who's "talking while everybody else is walking," and features harsh, almost discordant horns that seem to be laying the foundation for Fela Kuti's Afro-beat sound, even as the vocals are in perfectly comprehensible English, utterly lacking any African accent. And then there's the wasp-on-crystal meth guitar solo. This double disc is jammed with unstoppable, irresistible grooves overlaid with teeth-rattling, mind-zapping guitar solos and nearly unhinged call-and-response vocals. Not every track is pure aggression, of course; some are more relaxed, providing a breather between eruptions. Taken as a whole, this is one of the most exhilarating and thrilling compilations around, recommended not only to scholars of African music but anyone who remembers when rock bands wanted people to dance. ~ Phil Freeman

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (magazine) (p.108) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[This collection] moves away from funk and jazz to showcase explicit nods to early-'70s psych-rock."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.32
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for