CD This Is the BBC (CD 939267),
back to browsing

This Is the BBC

  • 1. Man With a Woman's Shadow
    2. Heliotrope
    3. De Chirico Street
    4. Cheese Alarm, The
    5. Jewels for Sophia
    6. Polly on the Shore
    7. Where Do You Go When You Die?
    8. I Saw Nick Drake
    9. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry
    10. Andy Kershaw Jingle
    11. Birds in Perspex
    12. Sally Was a Legend
    13. Elizabeth Jade
    14. Madonna of the Wasps
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 074

  • Credits

    Personnel: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, harmonica); Robyn Hitchcock; Tim Keegan (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, shaker); Kimberley Rew (vocals, electric guitar); Rob Allum (drums); Jake Kyle.
    Recording information: 02/16/1995-09/22/1999.
    Photographer: Michele Noach.
    Arranger: Martin Carthy.
    Compiled by the man himself, This Is the BBC collects 14 cuts from sessions taped between 1996 and 1999, focusing primarily on material from Moss Elixir and Jewels for Sophia. As usual, Hitchcock's banter, intricate guitar-playing, and unpredictable nature makes these more than just demos, outtakes, and by the book renderings of studio cuts. Highlights include the sardonic "Where Do You Go When You Die?," an extended version of the traditional piece "Polly on the Shore" (made famous by Martin Carthy), and a smart rendition of Bob Dylan's "It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry." The 12-page booklet includes poetry, lyrics, and numerous photos and paintings. Casual fans may not find much to sink their teeth into, but longtime Hitchcock collectors will find This Is the BBC to be an above-average oddity. ~ James Christopher Monger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.29
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for