CD Tom Tom Club [Deluxe Edition] (CD 4643108),
back to browsing

Tom Tom Club [Deluxe Edition]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Wordy Rappinghood
    2. Genius of Love
    3. Tom Tom Theme
    4. L'Elephant - (French)
    5. As Above So Below
    6. Lorelei Album Version
    7. On, On, On, On...
    8. Booming and Zooming
    9. Under the Boardwalk - (bonus track)
    10. On On On On... [Remix Version] - (remix)
    11. Lorelei [Remix Version] - (remix)
    12. Spooks [Single Version]
    13. Elephant [Single Version]
    14. (You Don't Stop) Wordy Rappinghood [Single Version]
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Pleasure of Love
    2. On the Line Again
    3. This is a Foxy World
    4. Bamboo Town
    5. Man With the 4-Way Hips, The
    6. Measure Up
    7. Never Took a Penny
    8. Atsababy! (Life is Great)
    9. Man With the 4-Way Hips [Extended Version], The
    10. Pleasure of Love [Instrumental Version]
    11. Man With the 4-Way Hips [Dub Version], The
    12. Yella Mr. Yella [Version]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 855362

  • Credits

    Tom Tom Club: Tina Weymouth, Chris Frantz, Steven Stanley, Benjamin Arbrister, Adrian Belew, Loric Weymouth, Laura Weymouth, Monte Brown, Tyrone Dowrie, James Rizzi, Kendall Stubbs, Lani Weymouth.
    Producers: Steven Stanley, Tina Weymouth, Chris Frantz.
    Liner Note Author: Ian Gilchrist.
    Photographers: Adrian Boot; Alison Jarvis.
    Following the release of the Talking Heads' fourth album, REMAIN IN LIGHT, the band's husband-and-wife rhythm section, drummer Chris Frantz and bassist Tina Weymouth, opted to record tracks in the Caribbean on the invitation of Islands Records founder Chris Blackwell, thus the Tom Tom Club was born. Joined by Talking Heads touring guitarist Adrian Belew, guitarist Monte Brown, percussionist Steven Stanley, and Weymouth's sisters, Laura and Lani, on background vocals, Frantz and Weymouth crafted a highly rhythmic, groove-laden album that incorporated world music (most obviously on the buoyant, African-tinged "L'Elephant") and hip-hop (the playful "Wordy Rappinghood," a kindred spirit to Blondie's "Rapture"). Of course, the 1981 album's most shining moment proved to be the hit single, "Genius of Love," a vibrant dance-floor classic that has been sampled ad infinitum. Issued the same year as David Byrne and Brian Eno's MY LIFE IN THE BUSH OF GHOSTS, TOM TOM CLUB was the fun and free-spirited counterpart to that experimental and cerebral outing, revealing that the Taking Heads could making fascinating music even when fragmented.

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Tom Tom Club cooked up funky grooves and quirky vocals to make their eponymous debut album....The sense of fun and the innate funk is contagious as ever."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for