CD Vera Causa (CD 1036196),
back to browsing

Vera Causa

    1. Cantus - (live)
    2. Scars Flown Proud - (live)
    3. Sparks - (live)
    4. Silver Circle, The - (live)
    5. All Lovers Lost - (live)
    6. Unquiet Grave, The - (live)
    7. Annwyn, Beneath the Waves - (live)
    8. Elyria - (remix)
    9. Mercyground - (remix)
    10. Silver Circle, The - (remix)
    11. Shattered in Aspect - (remix)
    12. Sea Angler, The - (remix)
    13. Scars Flown Proud - (remix)
    14. Porphyrogene - (remix)
    1. Frate Ave Atque Vale
    2. In Dreams of Mine
    3. Running up That Hill
    4. Patience Worth - (Piano Version)
    5. Hollow Hills
    6. Soul in Isolation - (live)
    7. Breath of a Kiss - (Demo)
    8. Muted Land
    9. Annwyn, Beneath the Waves - (Acoustic)
    10. Winter Wassail, A
    11. Romeo's Distress - (live)
    12. Drown
    13. All Lovers Lost - (Demo)
    14. Heal - (Original Demo)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 225

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Kenton Holmes, Monica Richards, Cynthia Coulter, Jeremy George, Stevyn Grey, William Faith.
    Producers include: Faith, Muse, Chad Blinman.
    Coming off a rough period of personal loss and creative strain after 1999's Evidence of Heaven, William Faith and Monica Richards return to the world that's made them one of the most cherished acts within the goth rock circuit. They're not exclusively goth rock, for their appreciation of neo-classical, folk, and worldbeat compositions also casts a fervor into their own experimental work. Vera Causa celebrates their expansive love for such music, highlighting covers, remixes, outtakes, and live tracks. Faith and the Muse give back to the fans. Disc one offers acoustic and demo cuts along with exquisite cover selections from some of Faith and the Muse's favorite artists. The Chameleons UK's "Soul of Isolation," performed by Faith, glows in slight darkwave ambience while his guitar work is intricately sharp, cusping his dark brood and a roaring chorus. Richards' vocalic beauty on Kate Bush's "Running Up That Hill" shutters into a clamoring mix of hard percussion and gnawing guitars. It's far more abrasive and wounded compared to Bush's theatrical take, but equally chilling. And the musical mayhem continues, particularly on the Christian Death cover, "Romeo's Distress." Faith and the Muse were extremely saddened by Rozz Williams' suicide in 1998, and their live rendition of Williams' cult classic is both angelic and afflicted. Richards scowls, "What's that moving in the basement?/What's that moving in the attic?/Who's that lying on the alter?/Who's that lying in the street?" -- and it's campy and glossy. Glam rock aesthetics mix inside Christian Death's heavy metal obscurity, and Faith and the Muse do an amazing job.
    Disc two showcases some of the band's savored moments from 2000's Evidence of Heaven tour. "Cantus" and "Scars Flown Proud" are both blissfully chaotic over conflicted guitars and percussion. Richards and Faith possess something more enchanting as a live act, and their energy is moving. Richards' choirgirl hearkening is similar to the brashness of Siouxsie Sioux, and such flare continues to make Faith and the Muse's popularity cross over into the areas of underground rock and industrial dance. The remixes also spotlight Faith and the Muse's new musical tweaking. "The Silver Circle [Gears and Teeth Mix]" and "Mercyground [Rhea's Obsession Mix]" focus more on instrumental distress rather than Richards' singing, whereas "Shattered in Aspect [BassX_RmX]" teases Richards inside hypnotic trance loops for a divine club/dance spin. Vera Causa is an exciting piece of work. It's not a greatest-hits collection, which is quite refreshing. Faith and the Muse relish in their past and are confident in where their music is headed. Vera Causa fits inside that notion. ~ MacKenzie Wilson

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (3/02, p.78) - 7 out of 10 - "...The ideal jumping-off point for new fans, introducing them to the band's blend of rocking goth and dark house....also holding much for loyal fans, offering superbly recorded live versions of classic songs..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for