CD Walking on Locusts (CD 1116606),
back to browsing

Walking on Locusts

  • 1. Dancing Undercover
    2. Set Me Free
    3. So What
    4. Crazy Egypt
    5. So Much for Love
    6. Tell Me Why
    7. Indistinct Notion of Cool
    8. Secret Corrida
    9. Circus
    10. Gatorville & Points East
    11. Some Friends
    12. Entre Nous
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1395

  • Credits
    EngineerEric Liljestrand; Martin Brass; Patrick Derivaz; Rich Lamb

    Personnel: John Cale (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards); Mark Deffenbaugh (stratatone & piccolo guitar, harmonica); David Tronzo (electric guitar); David Byrne (guitar); The Soldier String Quartet (strings); Ben Neill (trumpet); Erik Sanko (bass); Ben Perowski, Maureen Tucker (drums); Hassan Hakhmoun (Moroccan drums); Ibrahim Hakhmoun (metal castanets, drum); E.J. Rodriguez (congas, percussion); Tiye Giraud, Napua Davoy, Susan Didericksen, Joanne O'Brien, Eden Cale, Daisy Lignelli, The Lafayette Inspirational Ensemble (background vocals).
    Recorded at Sorceror Sound, New York, New York.
    All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
    Personnel: John Cale (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards); Mark Deffenbaugh (guitar, harmonica); David Byrne (guitar); David Tronzo (electric guitar); Todd Reynolds , David Soldier (violin); Martha Mooke (viola); Dawn Buckholz (cello); Erik Sanko (bass guitar); Ibrahim Hakhmoun (drums, castanets); Maureen Tucker, Ben Perowsky (drums); E.J. Rodriguez (congas, percussion); Hassan Hakmoun (clay drum); Tiye Giraud, Eden Cale, Daisy Lignelli, Susan Didericksen, Joanne O'Brien, Napua Davoy (background vocals).
    Recording information: Sorcerer, Studio Vision; Tascam Operations.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Maureen Tucker; Ben Neill; Hassan Hakmoun.
    Arranger: David Soldier.
    Released in 1996, WALKING ON LOCUSTS was John Cale's first solo album of new songs in over a decade. In the interim he recorded several collaborative works, including SONGS FOR DRELLA with old Velvet Undergound mate Lou Reed and WRONG WAY UP with Brian Eno. He also released a live set, FRAGMENTS OF A RAINY SEASON, which explored selections from throughout his career.
    This album is a delight from beginning to end. Cale has long delighted in mixing a deceptively cheerful-sounding delivery with darker underlying imagery. Guests include Maureen Tucker, David Byrne, and the Soldier String Quartet. The quartet appears on "Gatorville & Points East" and the beautiful "Set Me Free," a song that features a pedal steel guitar that weaves through the sonic curtain of bowed strings. There are numerous songs that are catchy, mesmerizing, and haunting. "So What" and "Entre Nous," with their chorus vocals, are two such pieces. This is a superb album and an essential title in Cale's catalog.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (10/04/96, p.62) - "...Cale nicely merges his baroque melodic consciousness with his still-sharp pop instincts..." - Rating: A-
    Q (11/96, p.119) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Crushing."
    NME (Magazine) (10/12/96, p.51) - 4 (out of 10) - "...we are in the Talking Heads-sponsored land of super-slick, pensive pop here....A wise man once said that most people would rather own up going to an adult cinema than listening to an adult pop's not hard to see why.
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.20
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for