CD Yessongs [Remaster] (CD 411494),
back to browsing

Yessongs [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Opening "Firebird Suite" - (excerpt)
    2. Siberian Khatru
    3. Heart of the Sunrise
    4. Perpetual Change
    5. And You and I: Cord Of Life / Eclipse / The Preacher And The Teacher / The Apocalypse
    6. Mood For a Day
    7. Six Wives of Henry VIII, The (Excerpts)
    8. Roundabout
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I've Seen All Good People: Your Move / All Good People
    2. Long Distance Runaround
    3. Close to the Edge: The Solid Time Of Change / Total Mass Retain / I Get Up I Get Down / Seasons Of Man
    4. Yours Is No Disgrace
    5. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker / Disillusion / Wurm
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 82682

  • Credits
    ProducerYes; Eddie Offord
    EngineerGeoffrey Haslam

    Yes: Jon Anderson (vocals); Steve Howe (guitar, background vocals); Rick Wakeman (keyboards); Chris Squire (bass instrument, background vocals); Alan White , Bill Bruford (drums).
    In 1972, Yes's brand of classically influenced, larger-than-life progressive rock had not yet been supplanted by the vitriol of punk, and concert-going kids would still greet 20-minute songs performed in their entirety with shrieks of delight and up-raised lighters. YESSONGS captures the group at the height of both its musical power and popularity. Perhaps surprisingly for such a progressive band, Yes uses the live setting to its advantage, finding musical space to explore even within its complicated arrangements. In some cases, these versions make the album versions sound a bit subdued.
    Especially compelling is "And You and I" from CLOSE TO THE EDGE, and a smoking rendition of "Roundabout", which one imagines the band wasn't totally sick of playing yet. YESSONGS serves as a compelling showcase for the guitar heroics of Steve Howe, from his intimate solo-acoustic "Mood for a Day" to his scintillating solo on "Yours is No Disgrace," which seems to float in the air and uncoil like a snake. The playing of the rest of the group is equally impressive, particularly the classically inclined keyboard excursions of Rick Wakeman. YESSONGS contains many of the band's finest compositions, and is one of the definitive live documents of the progressive rock genre.

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: 82682
  • Distributor: n/a
  • Analog/Digital: DDD
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Live
  • UPC: 075678268229
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.33
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for