CD Freaks and Geeks (CD 1058463),
back to browsing

Freaks and Geeks

  • 1. Bad Reputation - Joan Jett & the Blackhearts
    2. Geek Hallway - Michael Andrews
    3. Poor, Poor Pitiful Me - Warren Zevon
    4. Lindsay's Theme - Michael Andrews
    5. Gettin' High - Michael Andrews
    6. Look Sharp! - Joe Jackson
    7. Clem's Theme - Michael Andrews
    8. No Language in Our Lungs - XTC
    9. Lindsay Disturbed Theme - Michael Andrews
    10. Bill Gets Funky (A.K.A. Spacefunk) - Paul Feig
    11. U.S.A. Rock - Michael Andrews
    12. Spirit of Radio, The - Rush
    13. Daniel's Theme - Michael Andrews
    14. I'm One - The Who
    15. Porno Music - Michael Andrews
    16. Neal's Lament - Michael Andrews
    17. Groove Line, The - Heatwave
    18. Ken's Ode to Joe - Michael Andrews
    19. Come Sail Away - Styx
    20. End Title Theme - Michael Andrews
    21. Lady L - Jason Segal
    22. Eighteen - Dave "Gruber" Allen
    23. Jesus Is Just Alright - Jason Segal/Sara Hagan
    24. Up on Cripple Creek - Dave "Gruber" Allen
    25. Dumb as a Crayon - The Leaving Trains
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 37417

  • Credits
    ProducerAndrew Jay Cohen; Paul Feig; Judd Apatow

    Music played a pivotal role in Paul Feig and Judd Apatow's cult classic television series Freaks and Geeks, not only underscoring the emotions in each episode but capturing the show's early-'80s setting perfectly. There's a reason why the producers insisted on spending extra money on music licensing to ensure that the original soundtrack was on the DVD release -- stripping the Who's "I'm One" from the scene when Bill watches TV after school by himself or taking XTC's "No Language in Our Lungs" out of the scene where he's picked last for gym class would change the meaning and effect of these sequences; it would be like taking "Layla" out of Goodfellas or "Stuck in the Middle With You" out of Reservoir Dogs. Music licensing was one of the reasons that it took a while for the series to hit DVD, but once it finally was released to great acclaim in the spring of 2004, it took a mere five months for the CD soundtrack to finally appear. Like the DVD set, the CD will not disappoint any fan of the series. At 25 tracks, it's filled with pop songs played on the show, excerpts of Michael Andrews' original score, and songs performed from characters on the show, such as "Lady L," Nick's unforgettable tribute to Lindsay. Of course, not every song from the series could fit on a single disc -- none of the songs from Billy Joel's Glass Houses on Carded and Discarded made the cut, for instance -- but every song of note is here, including the opening theme of Joan Jett's "Bad Reputation," Warren Zevon's "Poor, Poor Pitiful Me," Joe Jackson's "Look Sharp," Rush's "Spirit of the Radio," and Styx's "Come Sail Away." Add to that David Wild's heartfelt liner notes and song-by-song notes by Jeff Rosso (actor Dave (Gruber) Allen), and this turns into a perfect musical yearbook for the show, capturing its spirit, humor, sensibility, and emotion. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.96) - 3 stars out of 5 - "A guitar-driven score....[with] goodies by Joan Jett, Warren Zevon, Joe Jackson, XTC, Rush, the Who and Styx..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.68
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for