CD Pure Mark Isham (CD 1073636),
back to browsing

Pure Mark Isham

    1. Seeking Isaiah - (with Mark Isham)
    2. Raffles in Rio - (with Mark Isham)
    3. Lazy Afternoon - (with Mark Isham)
    4. Thumbelina - (with Mark Isham)
    5. On the Threshold of Liberty - (with Mark Isham)
    6. Pittsburgh 1901 (Theme from Mrs. Soffel) - (with Mark Isham)
    7. And Miles to Go...Before He Sleeps - (with Mark Isham)
    8. Azael - (with Mark Isham)
    9. Spangled Heart-Belonging to All Time and Earth, A - (with Mark Isham)
    10. Men Before the Mirror - (with Mark Isham)
    11. Tale of Two Cities, A - (with Mark Isham)
    12. Tibet II - (with Mark Isham)
    13. In the Blue Distance - (with Mark Isham)
    14. All Blues - (Isak Rahm remix, Bonus Track, with Mark Isham)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 81655

  • Credits
    ProducerDawn Atkinson (Compilation)

    Personnel: Mark Isham (saxophone, trumpet, flugelhorn, piano, synthesizer, percussion, programming); Paul McCandless (various instruments); Peter Maunu (guitar); Lyle Mays (piano); Charlie Haden (upright bass); Peter Van Hooke (electronic percussion); David Torn (loops).
    Mark Isham's releases on Windham Hill are only part of his variegated discography (he is also a highly acclaimed composer for film and television), but even so they represent the sophisticated, ambitious aesthetic that characterizes all the composer/instrumentalist's work. The Windham Hill sampler PURE MARK ISHAM collects tracks from the artist's output for the label, focusing on compositions that soothe, relax, and induce meditative states of mind.
    Isham's penchant for blurring genre distinctions--mixing world music, jazz, ambient, and other styles--is evident on tracks such as "Raffles in Rio" and the shifting, evocative "On the Threshold of Liberty." The artist's trumpet adds subtle color to many of the tracks, but it is his skill as a composer of lush, complex soundscapes that really stands out here, making this 13-track collection a fine introduction to his work, and a sure bet for fans of inviting, ambitious new age.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for