CD The Slaughter Rule (CD 1052003),
back to browsing

The Slaughter Rule

  • 1. Open Ground - Jay Farrar
    2. Gather - Jay Farrar
    3. Rank Stranger - Vic Chesnutt
    4. Frost Heaves - Jay Farrar
    5. When I Stop Dreaming - Freakwater
    6. Odessa Yodel - Wylie & the Wild West
    7. Highwood - Jay Farrar
    8. Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet - The Blood Oranges
    9. Augusta - Jay Farrar
    10. To Be Young (Is to Be Sad, Is to Be High) - Ryan Adams
    11. Buffalo Jump - Jay Farrar
    12. West of Samoa - Speedy West & Jimmy Bryant
    13. Freight - Jay Farrar
    14. Dark Early - Jay Farrar
    15. Porchlight - Neko Case
    16. Tonight I Think I'm Gonna Go Downtown - Jimmie Dale Gilmore & The Flatlanders
    17. Cold Chimes - Jay Farrar
    18. Gumption - Jay Farrar
    19. Killing the Blues - Malcolm Holcombe
    20. Hangman - Jay Farrar
    21. Blue Eyes - Uncle Tupelo
    22. Open Ground (Reprise) - Jay Farrar (Reprise)
    23. Will There Be Any Stars in My Crown? - The Pernice Brothers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 87

  • Credits

    Original score composed by Jay Farrar.
    Producers: Michael Robinson, Greg O'Connor.
    Audio Mixer: Mike Martin.
    Liner Note Authors: Alex Smith; Andrew Smith .
    Recording information: Broom Factory Studios; Jajouka.
    Photographers: Jessica Shokrian; Alex Smith; Mike Robinson ; Erick Edwards.
    This fantastic soundtrack to an independent coming-of-age film about a young Montana football player not only includes entries from Bloodshot Records' best and brightest (Ryan Adams, Neko Case, and Blood Oranges, for example), but a beautiful and delicate score by Uncle Tupelo's Jay Farrar. Farrar's music, which is interspersed throughout the songs, is so subtle, so emotive, it effortlessly captures the feeling of driving an old car across the bleak, two-lane roads of the Midwest. This record is the sound of traveling, or dreaming of travel at least; the sound of being stuck in the same place for too long; the sound of change. From Vic Chesnutt and Freakwater's old-timey country to Ryan Adams' freewheeling "To Be Young" (arguably his best tune), The Slaughter Rule is one of the greatest collections of alternative country you're apt to find. Speedy West & Jimmy Bryant add an oddity with the exotic Pacific sounds of "West of Samoa" and Neko Case grabs the prize for the record's most sublime and purely powerful cut, "Porchlight." Still, it's Farrar's strange and almost surreal, rootsy instrumentals that are really breaking new ground. ~ Charles Spano

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (9/03, p.99) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...There are superb moments from Vic Chesnutt, Malcolm Holcombe and Freakwater....It's Farrar's intricate acoustic picking and occasional smotherings of distortion that lace up the spine..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for