Skip to product information
1 of 1

Kenny Vance & the Planotones Live

Kenny Vance & the Planotones Live

UPC: 089218103697

Format: DVD

Release Date: Jan 29, 2008

Rating: Not Rated

Regular price $13.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $13.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 4 and 6 business days after order placement.

Kenny Vance & The Planotones: Kenny Vance, Murray Weinstock, Garry Bonner, Angel Risoff.
Kenny Vance, who began with Jay & the Americans and has gone on to an extensive career supervising music in films, and his cohorts in the Planotones, each of them with a lengthy list of music business credits, perform doo wop music as a sideline and a labor of love. On this self-titled release, they re-create '50s and '60s standards like Jerry Butler's "He Will Break Your Heart," the Drifters' "Some Kind of Wonderful," and Jay & the Americans' "This Magic Moment," as well as originals such as Vance's autobiographical history of doo wop, "Looking for an Echo" (presented in both demo and full group versions). Kenny Vance & the Planotones emphasize the sweeter aspects of doo wop over its more exciting elements. If they have a flaw (in addition to the slight wear and tear in their middle-aged voices), it is in their extreme reverence for the music, which sometimes makes it seem a bit formal. But they clearly love what they do. ~ William Ruhlmann
View full details