Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jethro Tull

Minstrel in the Gallery [40th Anniversary: La Grande Edition]

Minstrel in the Gallery [40th Anniversary: La Grande Edition]

UPC: 825646157204

Format: CD & DVD (4 disc)

Release Date: May 04, 2015

Regular price $50.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $50.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Jethro Tull: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, flute); Martin Barre (electric guitar); John Evan (piano, organ); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (upright & electric bass); Barriemore Barlow (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: David Palner (conductor); Patrick Halling, Elizabeth Edwards, Rita Eddowes, Bridget Procter (violin); Katharine Thulborn (cello).
All tracks have been digitallly remastered.
Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, flute); Martin Barre (electric guitar); Rita Eddowes, Bridget Procter, Elizabeth Edwards (violin); Katharine Thulborn (cello); John Evan (piano, organ); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (bass guitar); Barriemore Barlow (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Steven Wilson; Jakko M. Jakszyk.
Recording information: Europe (05/15/1975); Europe (05/18/1975); Europe (05/26/1975); Europe (06/07/1975); Europe (07/07/1975).
Photographers: Carl Dunn; Martin Webb; Pete Smith; Dave Morris ; Brian Ward ; Bridget Procter; Bruce Hammersley.
Jethro Tull was at the height of its fame in the mid-'70s. Although critics sometimes found their songs overly ornate and the lyrics too arty, the fans didn't mind, and Tull was one of the most successful live acts in the world. MINSTREL IN THE GALLERY showcases Ian Anderson's idiosyncratic vision of progressive rock, one in which he married hard-rock chords and thunderous rave-ups with gentle balladry and the earthy sounds of his flute and acoustic guitar.
MINSTREL vacillates between gentle, lilting melodies ("Requiem," the gorgeous "One White Duck") and upbeat stompers. The sprawling title track, which opens the album, is typical of the band's mini-opera approach. Anderson initially plays the main theme against a simple backdrop of acoustic guitar, flute, mandolin and choral backing vocals--then the electric guitar and drums barge in, and the group kicks into an intricate, sometimes discordant workout. At about the four-minute point, the song starts up again and the band plays it through in a driving electric style. "Baker Street Muse" is a similarly dense piece, an almost 17-minute, four-part composition that alternates between orchestral rock, folk-rock, prog-rock, and evocative excursions into minstrelsy.


Disc 1:
1 - Minstrel In the Gallery
2 - Cold Wind To Valhalla
3 - Black Satin Dancer
4 - Requiem
5 - One White Duck/010 = Nothing At All
6 - Baker St. Music
7 - Pig-Me and the Whore
8 - Nice Little Tune
9 - Crash-Barrier Waltzer
10 - Mother England Reverie
11 - Grace
12 - Summerday Sands
13 - Requiem [Early Version]
14 - One White Duck [Take 5]
15 - Grace [Take 2]
16 - Minstrel In The Gallery
17 - Cold Wind To Valhalla
18 - Aqualung [16-18 'BBC' Versions]
Disc 2:
1 - Introduction (The Beach, Pt. 2)
2 - Wind Up
3 - Critique Oblique
4 - Wond'ring Aloud
5 - My God: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/Bourée/Quartet/Living In The Past/My God (Reprise)
6 - Cross-Eyed Mary
7 - Minstrel In The Gallery
8 - Skating Away On the Thin Ice of the New Day
9 - Bungle In The Jungle
10 - Aqualung
11 - Guitar Improvisation
12 - Back-Door Angels
13 - Locomotive Breath: Hard Headed English General/Back-Door Angels (Reprise) [With Improvisations]
Disc 3:
1 - Minstrel In the Gallery [Remixed Album Plus 7 Bonus Tracks]
2 - Minstrel In the Gallery [Quad Plus Bonus Track]
3 - Minstrel In the Gallery [Original 1975 Stereo Mixes Plus Bonus Track]
Disc 4:
1 - Live At the Palais Des Sports
2 - Minstrel In the Gallery [Promo Video Clip]