Skip to product information
1 of 1

Paul & Linda McCartney

Ram [Special Edition]

Ram [Special Edition]

UPC: 888072334496

Format: CD (2 disc)

Release Date: May 21, 2012

Regular price $17.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $17.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Audio Mixer: Eirik the Norwegian.
Audio Remasterers: Steve Rooke; Guy Massey; Simon Gison.
Photographer: Linda McCartney.
Publishers: Nancy Jeffries ; Dave Bogart; Patricia O'Hearn.
At the beginning of his solo career, McCartney took the term rather literally, recording virtually alone, playing and singing nearly all the parts himself. Nowhere is that approach more effective than on RAM, arguably his finest solo recording. Admittedly, he had a little help from guitarist Hugh McCracken and a couple of others here and there, but for the most part, this is Paul's show. Instead of succumbing to self-indulgence, though, he used this forum to focus his artistic energies, thus turning out some of the best songs of his post-Beatles career.
The opening "Too Many People" is an appealingly melodic rocker that combines the two sides of McCartney--melodious popster and unabashed rocker--to unprecedented effect. He gets bluesy on "3 Legs," homespun-acoustic on "Heart of the Country," and appealingly jocular on the radio hit "Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey," whose whimsy recalls his best light-hearted Beatles efforts. What he maintains throughout all this is his vision, never getting sidetracked into loopy experimentalism or sentimental mush. RAM is McCartney at the peak of his considerable powers, spontaneous-sounding but still expertly crafted.


Disc 1:
1 - Too Many People
2 - Three Legs
3 - Ram On
4 - Dear Boy
5 - Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey
6 - Smile Away
7 - Heart of the Country
8 - Monkberry Moon Delight
9 - Eat at Home
10 - Long Haired Lady
11 - Ram On
12 - Back Seat of My Car
Disc 2:
1 - Another Day
2 - Oh Woman, Oh Why
3 - Little Woman Love
4 - Love for You [Jon Kelly Mix]
5 - Hey Diddle [Dixon Van Winkle Mix]
6 - Great Cock and Seagull Race [Dixon Van Winkle Mix]
7 - Rode All Night
8 - Sunshine Sometime [Earliest Mix]